Weekend Eating

When the weekend arrives it feels like a time of celebration! I like to cook, feed people, celebrate together… Another a week full of great accomplishments has passed.

However, I know that I still have to keep the food in check. So, it’s time to make things a little more special… Or mix it up a bit!

Last night we decided to make Paleo sushi (inspired by my friends Shinobu and Heather) and chocolate covered strawberries. This satisfied my deep craving for celebratory-weekend-food!

So I made cauliflower rice, chopped a bunch of vegetables, scrambled eggs, made fresh ahi poke with Hawaiian salt and green onions…served it all with Nori wrappers, wasabi and coconut amino’s. Everybody had fun putting together their own sushi rolls, and I enjoyed watching my family load up on veggies and good food on Friday night!

For dessert, I made chocolate covered strawberries…Delicious! And so simple!
Using Stevia sweetened chocolate chips, I quickly melted them for about 30 seconds (stovetop or microwave works – be careful not to over melt or the chocolate becomes dry and crumbly rather than saucy). There were still whole pieces of chocolate chips in the mix when I removed it from the heat. I stirred them and stirred them and stirred them until the rest of the solid pieces melted, making a smooth, thick chocolate sauce.

Washing the strawberries and removing the tops I quickly dried them with a paper towel, and set them upside down on a platter. I never have great luck actually “dipping” the berries so I spooned the chocolate on and gave a quick swirl with the back of the spoon. They look great this way, and have a generous chocolate bite. Refrigerating them for a few minutes gives the chocolate a chance to solidify and and they are a perfect and pretty dessert!

20140621-112730.jpg

20140621-112745.jpg

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Eating

  1. jaw123456 says:

    Reblogged this on Wholesome Home and commented:

    One more time…somehow I deleted this one on connected sites…

Leave a Reply

