Anytime Frittata

Eggs are good anytime. We have 15 little ladies who lay eggs for us daily. I like knowing where my eggs come from, and knowing what the hens have been fed. Needless to say, we have eggs nearly every day.

There are thousands of recipes for frittatas on the Internet, and in cook books, etc. This recipe is just a hodgepodge of several different recipes that I like, and I’ve made it my own.

First I take 8 slices of bacon, cut into small pieces using kitchen scissors, place them in a iron skillet and bake in the oven at 350° stirring occasionally so that all the pieces get evenly crispy.

While the bacon is cooking I dice red peppers, onions, two generous handfuls of fresh spinach, zucchini, mushrooms, or whatever else sounds delicious! I put about a cup of each vegetable using only 3 to 4 vegetable choices for each frittata so that it doesn’t change the consistency of the egg mixture while baking.

Once the bacon is cooked crispy, I take the skillet out of the oven and place it on medium low heat on the stovetop to sautée the vegetables.

While the veggies are sautéing with the bacon, I whisk together eight eggs adding sea salt, garlic, and cracked black pepper… Or any other spices of your choice!

I then pour the whisked eggs and spices over the bacon and veggie mixture and cook on medium low for about 4 to 5 minutes to the bottom is solid but not over-cooked and the top is still a bit runny.

Turning the oven to broil I finish up the frittata in the oven until the top is a light golden color. This takes another 3 or 4 minutes.

This recipe makes 6 nice servings of frittata. We often top it with salsa, avocado, or tomatoes. Easy and delicious!

This frittata recipe is another great way to serve quality protein and keep your menu interesting!

20140621-082333.jpg

20140621-082341.jpg

20140621-082401.jpg

20140621-082409.jpg

20140621-082416.jpg

20140621-082424.jpg

20140621-082431.jpg

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

