A Search for Socks

It all started with a search for socks. All I truly wanted was the comfort of a warm mug of coffee and my journal in hand. And I needed to get everything ready so that I could head to my class at the gym. The “Morning Grind.” This getting ready could have happened the night before but it didn’t for a thousand different reasons. So I was on a mission to get the socks and be 100% ready – this being ready would free me up to enjoy a little time of quiet devotion before leaving.

So I ended up in the laundry room staring at a pile of unmatched socks. Knowing I needed to dig through. Begrudging the fact that I was in the laundry room at 4:30 a.m. and feeling a little frustrated at this detour…I reluctantly started the digging. As I did I also decided to pray. Always multi-tasking. And then my heart softened. Every item I picked up belonged to someone I loved. The more I prayed, the more my heart was stirred. I prayed for each of them. Prayers turned into praises and thanksgiving at all God is doing in the lives of these beautiful children. I prayed for good sleep, for learning and blessings, for eating well and growing strong. I prayed for seizures to stop, and for lame legs to walk. I prayed for personalities and character traits. I prayed over myself that I would be the Mama they need me to be to grow into the people that God called them to be. Praying for each of them to be open and loving and willing to receive from God, all that He has for them. That they would know His love and His care for them and His grace over their lives. That they would see their need for God, and that we would all know that the God of the universe, the God that saves, the God that we love and so desperately need is actually all we need. Tears of joy flowed. Oh God, let your love embrace them and envelop their lives just as clothes cover their bodies…let them walk in your covering all the days of their lives.

Laundry prayers. They have continued since that day. The most simple tasks can take on deep spiritual meaning…if I allow myself to experience God’s blessings and presence in every task, it becomes a joy.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

