Jesus Loves Me This I Know

We started with “Jesus Loves Me.” I looked up at Grandma and saw her eyes brimming with tears. Tears of joy and good-bye. Tears of relief and sadness. Mixed emotions of happy and sad, content and ready. I smiled at her. I looked across at joyful new parents ready to complete this transition. Ready to welcome their son fully, unconditionally into their home, their lives, their hearts. My eyes filled up and spilled over and kept spilling. As I sang, my mouth opened silent. Tears streaming instead of sound. Those precious words, that proclamation, “Jesus loves me this I know….Little ones to Him belong…”

Simple song. Simple words. Simple truth. And as I attempted to sing my voice cracked and stalled. It came time to pray and share and encourage and build up. Grandma stood up with this precious boy and we encircled new parents as they reached out and received their son.

Adoption. An amazing time of walking those words out. Loving kids and giving them a place to belong. And there is loss in adoption. Great loss. Great gain as well.

I am privileged to be a part of such a beautiful process. A ceremony. A promise. A celebration of life. Celebrating a grandmother and the love and care she poured out. Celebrating a precious boy with his whole life ahead. Celebrating a couple and their choice to choose that child. Despite unanswered questions, despite the unknown. They choose him, the choose love, they choose Jesus.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

