Breakfast Frittata with Avocado

Yummy breakfast in the iron skillet! From the I’ve. To the burner and back again! I love cooking in my iron skillets. This one belonged to my grandmother,

Frittata’s are so easy! I followed a ten egg recipe and whisked garlic, sea salt and pepper into the eggs.

Cut 5 slices of no-sugar added bacon to the pan and fried it in the oven. After it was cooked I moved the pan to the stove top and added the following diced vegetables:

1 orange bell pepper
1 small zucchini
4 green onions

Sautéed these vegetables in the bacon fat for a few minutes. Added the egg mixture, cooking on the stovetop set at medium low. After the eggs were set I put the skillet back in the oven for about 5 minutes. Broiling so that the frittata puffed up and became a little bit golden. Topped with fresh slices of avocados and freshly ground black pepper! (Last week I added a tomato…today I didn’t have one 🙂 A few slices of pear on the side made for a nice savory/sweet combination.

20130821-172226.jpg

20130821-172233.jpg

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

