More on this health journey…

This marks day 17 for me on the Whole30 this time around. I can hardly believe I have neglected posting the past two weeks! There are probably a few things I can share…

There are so many good foods we have eaten. One craving I have had is for roasted beets. Yum! A little olive oil and fresh herbs with a drizzle of balsamic, baked in the oven to perfection! For looks topped with a small sprinkling of green onion or fresh parsley for serving.

These beets are great with chicken that has been pan sautéed in olive oil, topped with fresh herbs and spices – especially sea salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic! I cook the chicken in my iron skillet, covered over medium heat until the under-side has browned. Turn chicken I we and cook until the other side is browned. The skillet will give the chicken a delicious, brown coating!

Confession….The last several days I felt the pull to eat sweet things, so I visited with health food store for some dried mango and dried black mission figs (no sugar added of course!). For the record, small bags were purchased from the bulk section and these bags are still full! I will share with the whole family so that I don’t end up with a sore stomach and everyone gets to enjoy a sweet, wholesome treat.

Another sweet treat for us was a wonderful, blender-ful of Haupia “ice cream.” Filling my VitaMix to full capacity with ice, I added one and a half cans of coconut milk. To sweeten you can add a few dried dates to the mix. If this were paleo eating I could choose to add a spoon of local honey. The smooth consistency from the VitaMix is amazing! It serves us 8 small cups. I love my VitaMix.

What’s on the menu today?

Well….
Breakfast was an scramble with sausage and eggs and veggies

Lunch is Asian style lettuce wraps, filled with lots of diced veggies (bell peppers, carrots, onion, zucchini, cabbage) and chicken. Served in lettuce cups and topped with cilantro.

Dinner is spaghetti and meatballs!! Fresh made meatballs with lots of garlic, herbs and spices…. Picking fresh basil from the garden! Served over spaghetti squash, along side of a big salad.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More on this health journey…

  1. I’m trying to make healthier eating choices, so I enjoy reading what’s on your menu 😉 I’ll have to try the haupia; Chris and I crave sweets on a nightly basis, so I’m looking for healthy alternatives.

    • jaw123456 says:

      Oh yes! The sweet tooth is forever hounding many people! There are many ideas for some healthier alternatives to refined sugar products. I will try and post some more ideas here soon.

Leave a Reply

