Health Journey

Today I began the Whole30 plan again. It is such a great elimination diet – helping me to clean out, re-set, and recharge my energy! They have a very informative website www.whole9.com

What is it? Well, basically it is a way of eating for 30 or more days in which you eat whole foods. By cutting out processed foods, you also cut out grains, gluten, dairy and sugar. All sweeteners are out – including stevia, agave, honey…and fruit is limited as well. No packages or processed foods. Good stuff.

I have done this program before and tend to go back to it whenever I need a “re-set.” It is not a typical cleanse that one may think of with fasting or preparing to fast. This program is a high-protein, low-carb plan that works very well! I have lost significant weight every time I have done the whole30 plan. Eating this way helps me get rid of inflammation in my body, helps restore good digestion, balances my hormones and after a short period of time I feel energized!

I have done this with friends before, and here I am doing it with friends again. One of the biggest struggles seems to be people getting hung up about what they should eat –or not!

At my house, todays menu looked like this:

Breakfast: Spinach and egg scramble with orange bell pepper, onions and garlic. Great way to start the day! The eggs and the spinach together pack a lot of protein and give me the start I need so that I don’t crave sweets later. Don’t be afraid of seasoning with sea salt and fresh ground black pepper.

Lunch: Grass fed beef burger with avocado, onion and tomato on a porta bella bun. This is so easy to make and so delicious…and so huge! Porta bella mushroom caps are ginormous! I could only eat half. Cooking the porta bella just right is the key…and of course letting it cool before you take a bite. Served with sliced, fresh peach.

Dinner: Thai Shrimp Soup from Everyday Paleo Cookbook by Sarah Fragoso. This is an awesome cookbook. Sarah has a blog too www.everydaypaleo.com This is a very simple soup that is fairly easy and quick to make. Packed with greens, and simple favors that compliment each other well! Creamy coconut milk mixed with chicken broth…I added garlic and lots of fresh ground black pepper!

20130801-232629.jpg

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

