My Favorite Gluten-Free Pancake

I love breakfast. It is my favorite meal of the day! There are many paleo or gluten free recipes out there for this type of pancake. So, this is nothing new. This is simply my go-to-concoction…especially when I have a few extra minutes in the morning (or evening…because I like breakfast any time!) and want something warm and sweet and yummy!

This recipe works for me and it’s so simple. I use it as the base for all my pancakes. You may want to add a few tablespoons of any of the following to change it up: pumpkin purée, fresh diced strawberries, fresh blueberries, diced apples and a little more cinnamon, applesauce, dark chocolate chips (did I say that?), etc.

I throw everything in the blender (except chocolate) in the order listed below, while my griddle heats up with a tablespoon of coconut oil.

1 large ripe banana
2 eggs
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp vanilla
3/4 c almond meal/flour (I use Bob’s Red Mill and order from Amazon – best price for a case)
Blend until smooth. If you don’t have a great blender, try mixing with a hand mixer.

Cook on medium low with one tablespoon coconut oil. Add more oil to your pan as needed. These pancakes take a little longer to cook than others. And you will know it is ready once the bottom is evenly colored a dark-golden brown…then you can flip it. The edges come out a little crispy…and the flavor is amazing!

This recipe makes about 4 medium sized pancakes. Great for two people or to serve a single pancake as a side dish with some other breakfast delight! They are great served plain. Or should you choose you may want to top them with a spoon of honey, fruit, or real maple syrup. Yum!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

