Paleo Beef Stew

This is a delicious meal that is simple and quick to prepare. Simply put everything in the crock pot and you have a fabulous meal!

2 pounds grass fed beef, stew meat
2 c onion
2 c celery
2 c carrot
4 red potatoes (optional)
A few kale leaves, stems removed and leaves chopped (optional)
8 medium sized tomatoes (if not in season you may also use stewed tomatoes)
3 cloves minced garlic
4 c organic beef broth
sea salt and fresh ground black pepper

With two tablespoons of olive oil in a large skillet, brown the stew meat so that it seals in the flavor but doesn’t cook all the way through. Place browned meat in bottom of crock pot. Chop all the vegetables listed and add them to the crock pot as well. Stir vegetables and meat so they are well integrated. Pour the broth over the top of the meat and vegetable mixture. Add salt and pepper. Set crock pot to cook on low for 10 hours. This recipe turns out perfect for us every time! We love it.

If you are like me, you may want a little more seasoning. Don’t get me wrong – the flavors are incorporated and delicious…I just like a little zip! So after I serve my bowl, I add a dash of cayenne pepper, Tabasco or more black pepper. Depending on my mood. 🙂

Also, I realize some folks don’t use potatoes in their paleo cooking. I have found that a few red potatoes here and there are fine for us and do not seem to through a wrench on our efforts. So, you choose about the potatoes based on your dietary needs or how they make you feel.

This recipe makes a huge crockpot full of stew. Enough to feed my large family for two dinners. You may not think there is enough beef broth in the recipe. However, we have found it to be enough in the crock pot. Should you choose to make this recipe on the stove top, you may want to increase the broth.

20130626-102441.jpg

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

