Midnight in the Kitchen

I know I need a head start. It’s late and I would much rather be in bed. And I also know that if I sacrifice a little time, a little sleep tonight, and push through just another hour…it will pay off tomorrow. No one is awake except for me, and I can move pretty fast on my own.

I have learned that my mood and my preparation seem to set the tone for the day. This also means that I can’t stay up too late and be exhausted for my family. There is a happy medium.

This ketogenic lifestyle requires preparation – reading, weighing, calculating. For my son’s health and well-being and for the benefit of the whole family. This diet helps him in so many ways, controlling seizures and healing his brain. I cannot waiver or take a break, or just not feel like doing it. I have to keep everything in place so that he remains in ketosis. There is no yo-yo dieting here! So I prepare some salmon casseroles and bake them in the oven for my boy. Macadamia Nuts blended into smooth butter in the Vitamix and poured into a jar, ready for tomorrow.

And for myself, I need to eat well to stay strong for my family. As my body remains strong and I can better accomplish all that is required of me. I prefer to eat more of a paleo diet. Basically, higher protein, lower carb, no grains, no dairy. This always works best if I am more prepared. Menu tomorrow? Beef stew. Local grass fed beef in the crock pot full of veggies and onions and garlic. I am looking forward to waking to these delicious smells!

Boiling water and making tea to add to my ceramic jar full of tasty Kombucha. It needs to cool to room temperature before I can add it to the already fermented batch. Finishing the tea means it will be ready to add to the batch in the morning, keeping the continuous brew in motion.

Picking up and making notes. Preparing for our friends who are coming in the morning to lend extra, helping hands as we have various appointments to attend.

Starting a load of laundry in the wash. Always. I will switch it to the dryer before bed.

Making a fresh bottle for our miracle baby, so it is ready when she wakes in an hour or so.

Grinding coffee, measuring and setting my favorite timer to brew in the dark hours of morning. Waking up to such a rich, inviting smell makes early morning more welcome. Time to think and ponder in the quiet, alone, as I prepare for the day.

The pay off will be worth the extra time spent. And all of this multi-tasking includes prayers being lifted up for each family member. Praying for their needs and their relationships, and a deeper hunger for the Almighty. Dropping into bed, I am satisfied with all that was accomplished and happy to have a head start tomorrow.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

