Sleep

The unwelcome, familiar noise could jolt me out of bed like nothing else. His little body, forcefully being shoved down by some unseen force, with the exhalation of breath. I know this noise. It is quiet. It is known. It wakes me. I move into action.

Praying, I scoop him into my arms and hold him close. His muscles rigid, and suddenly limp only to become rigid again in the next moment. This scenario repeats thirty, forty, fifty times. His gaze is far off. I speak to him softly, I tell him it’s going to be okay. I pray aloud and include him. He is there, but he is not present.

I ask God, “why?” I don’t hear the answer. I know that God hears my cry, I know that ultimately He is good. I know…and yet I cannot say that I understand.

These sleepless nights, these seizures lasted for two years. Nightly waking, more than once to cradle and comfort the jerking body of my son. Every night, pulling him into my bed to hold him close, to pray, to love, to protect.

Sleep has come back to us these past weeks. Sweet sleep. His body has been resting. Ten hours of sleep at a time. Restful boy. Rested parents. This diet, these prayers, God is answering. Precious sleep. Peace in the night.

Thank you Lord that you are answering our prayers. You are healing our son. Thank you for rest and peace and nights without seizures. Thank you for leading us to this diet. We are so grateful!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sleep

  1. Kristen Shroy says:

    You have so been on my heart these past couple of weeks. I pray that God may pour His rest and peace on you. I also pray that God continues to give you the wisdom, strength and tenacity to do what you know in your “mommy knowing” needs to happen with “D”, even when it’s not popular with the Doctors. May God bring healing to all your worn out bodies and may joy be abundant as you go down this new road. When I think of one word to describe you…AMAZING comes to mind. I love you and think of you often. Thank you for sharing openly the journey that you are all on, I know it blesses those who read it…it blesses me. Loves, Kristen

    • jaw123456 says:

      Kristen, Your message was so sweet. Thank you for your prayers, your heart and your kind words. I am humbled and blessed. I hope to see you again someday…much love!

  2. Renee masuyama says:

    Thank you sweet Jesus

    • jaw123456 says:

      Yes, Renee! We are praising the Lord! Grateful for all He is doing. Thanking Him that He led us to ths diet, and I am constantly reminded that He is our healer. Have a blessed day!

  3. loving31 says:

    I enjoyed reading your post and I know God to be The Healer. Stay Encouraged and watch Him work.

  4. jenplus4 says:

    Oh sweet thing, you seeped into my heart. Thank you for your words.

Leave a Reply

