Adoption

Oh my heart and mind are full! Full of love and hope, healing, and a better understanding for the needs of children around the world.

I have had the privilege of spending the last few days at Summit VIII. If you are not familiar with Summit, I would encourage you to look up the Christian Alliance for Orphans and get a small glimpse of the magnitude of this gathering. The adoption agency I work for is a member of the Alliance, and I am honored to be here.

It has been an amazing experience hearing leaders from around the world speak about the orphan crisis in their nations. To hear from Christians here in the United States, impassioned to meet the needs of the fatherless in our own Nation and abroad. The HOPE that was expressed was contagious…the numbers of orphans worldwide are overwhelming, and yet they are not unconquerable.

As I process the hours of information I received, and as I review my notes, books and conversations shared, I look forward to sharing more about my thoughts and prayers and hopes for this movement.

Adoption is so much a part of who I am, I cannot begin to express how great it felt to sit in the same room with so many kindred spirits…nearly 2,000 people. Everyone, seeking the Heart of God and wanting to work in some capacity (many different capacities, actually) to bless the fatherless and the people who work with them…

There were some numbers quoted this week that really got me thinking. There are approximately 163 million orphans worldwide…there are approximately 400,000 foster children in foster care in the United States…And there are over 400,000 churches in America. I am sitting with these numbers and letting them sink in.

Oh let’s keep praying friends, and asking the Lord how He wants to use each of us to minister in the midst of this brokenness…. Maybe you are unable to adopt, and there are many other ways to minister, give and bless. What part is He asking you to be active in? Praying…

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adoption

  1. Rachel says:

    Summit 8: amazing, awesome, wow. Esp. the divine run-ins w/the Kona guys, Kaneohe nurse, fostercare filmmaker, etc. So humbling to see parents, foster parents, adult adoptees, little ones, professionals, missionaries, artists, ministries — all His Church w/His Heart !! He is moving, He is doing it, He will get the glory, and no one else. Love you, R in Hnl

Leave a Reply

