Urban-Chicken-Mama

We are the proud owners of 10 beautiful laying hens. They truly are gorgeous…yep…they are.

They lay these colorful eggs and I marvel again at how God spared nothing when designed His creation. Blue, green, pink, brown, and speckled eggs are collected each day by happy children eager to enter the coop.

Our four year old son loves to make his way down stairs, to the chickens to have his hands pecked at. With this pecking his eyes squeeze shut and the adorable gap between his teeth is exposed, followed by a laugh that is contagious! My eleven year old daughter has a favorite chicken. She is certain that the chicken has a favorite human, too. Caity says that chicken waits for her visit everyday. And I must admit, I have seen the chicken staying near the fence when Caity makes her way into the yard.

Thank you Lord for life…for children, chickens, and the joy of it all! Thank you for your abundant blessings and your handiwork. I am in awe of you my King, as I look out at the vast ocean this morning and recognize your majesty…and I see your handiwork in our own backyard. You alone are worthy of praise!

20120508-072922.jpg

20120508-072930.jpg

20120508-072937.jpg

20120508-072942.jpg

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Urban-Chicken-Mama

  1. fresh eggs are so delicious!! But I’m actually a little scared of chickens; they just don’t behave in a manner I can understand (like dogs, cats and horses). I’m afraid of getting pecked, or surprised by flapping wings. Chickens startle me. I sure wish my cat laid eggs… 🙂 How nice that your children enjoy the coop and its inhabitants!

    • jaw123456 says:

      Jacqui! Great to hear from you… I am finding that many people share your feelings about chickens. We are picking up more chicks today! My kids (well, most of them) are thrilled. I am mostly indifferent :))

Leave a Reply

