Stay Connected

Staying connected to my family, in a deeper way requires availability – being physically and emotionally present. Creating opportunities for healthy attachments to occur in the everyday details of our lives. We connect while playing board games and dollies, playing dress up and grocery store, completing art projects and tasks. We connect while I teach them about God and history, science, math, language and so on. Being together and participating in life with them provides many opportunities for us to foster closeness and a deeper sense of trust in our relationships.

I must stay aware and awake to their needs. Not allowing myself to just get caught up with the tasks at hand, the chores, or all the responsibilities I have within our home and community. A busy calendar can impact our family and keep us disconnected. As our calendar gets too full, we often have to prune it back to allow for more time to cultivate more time for healthier relationships. As the Mama, I need to make many opportunities to give eye contact, and positive physical touch. All the while, taking the time to stop everything….putting everything else aside to look into their little faces (the big ones too), and speak life and truth to them. Truths they need to hear from a Mama they can trust.
“You are important!”
“You are special.”
“You mean so much to me.”
“I would love to watch you do that!”
“I am proud of you!”
“Thank you!”
Taking notice of all the good, all the blessings and speaking them aloud.

Putting my own selfish desires aside, my own wants and wishes aside, and stopping everything so that I may make the most of the opportunities that are available every day to connect with my family. This helps us to grow deeper trust and attachments with one another. Knowing that someone notices the good in another, and modeling this for each other helps the whole family grow closer.

Speak much life into your family today!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stay Connected

  1. home2learn says:

    i love this. such a great reminder. at the little mama’s retreat at kelly’s yesterday, we talked about this gift of being present and available with our kids during all the everyday moments … and how crucial it is for us mama’s to spend time being filled and strengthened by our GOD in order to best see and meet needs. i can burn out so quick in my own strength, and become overwhelmed. thanks for the encouragement, sweet friend. xo

    • jaw123456 says:

      A Mama’s retreat! What a wonderful time to re-charge! Wish I could have joined you all! Yes, we have such a beautiful opportunity to bless our families – being present, awake and aware for our precious ones! Much love!

Leave a Reply

