The Gift of Children

There is something in the heart of all of us that cries out to belong. We want to be known, to be loved, cared for, pursued, protected, nurtured. I want this…my children want this…

Tonight we sat in a restaurant (which doesn’t happen very often these days). The kids were thrilled! I noticed watchful eyes studying us…I sometimes wonder what they think.

Are they watching and wondering if we run a daycare, a camp, if we coach a sports team or provide foster care? Or that ever present question, “Are they ALL yours?”

The kids were great. Good manners. Voices at the right volume for a restaurant. My four year old did well. He attempted to play drums on his plate a few times. When I intervened he responded with a smile and some of his own beat-box style rhythms. At one point he bit into a creamer that splattered across both our faces. I erupted in laughter at the shock of it. Quickly regaining my composure, I wiped us both up. Minor. The cranberry juice my eleven year old spilled was a little bigger mess. Also easily cleaned up. Easily fixed.

My husband and looked at each other and laughed. “Always an adventure!” he said. I shook my head, with a smile and said, “Hey, that’s not too bad….” We realized that those incidents were minor with 9 of us at a small table. We could have gotten mad, or made the time miserable…but instead we rolled with it! I was proud of how everyone conducted themselves.

We are blessed to be surrounded by our children. Blessed to be watched by others. As we were leaving a sweet lady said, “You have such a beautiful family!” I am thankful. They are beautiful. They are loved.

20120330-071136.jpg

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Gift of Children

  1. Jules says:

    Sounds like you had fun and was able to roll with the chaos of having kids. This was inspiring.

  2. So glad you were able to enjoy it! So good to have the perspective that little bumps along the way are not worth ruining the evening over.
    Now help my brain here – you said 9 of you. Who am I missing? Do you have another precious somebody living with you? Love you and miss you my friend!

Leave a Reply

