Starting 2012 with a Daniel Fast

As the Christmas decorations were being tucked away for another year, we began preparing for the upcoming year…2012. It seems as though this past year moved more quickly than ever before! In an effort to start this new year off in a great way, our family is joining our church in a corporate Daniel Fast.

Fasting can be exciting…say what?!
No, really! It is exciting to change things up. Starting the new year with less focus on food, or ourselves, and our stuff and more focus on God. Listening to Him, being open to receive from Him, hearing what He has for us and believing Him for great things!

Recently, I began to pray and ask God to reveal areas in my life that need some work. I am praying that God would make me keenly aware of the things that I have grown used to, especially those things that are not His best for me. For instance, if there are things such as, attitudes, unrealistic expectations, disappointments, sin, bad habits, or the like that I have become tolerant of, I want to be aware. If I recognize these areas in my life, then I can surrender them to God and He can do a deeper work in me…although this process can be uncomfortable, it is ultimately what I want. I want to start 2012 with my eyes wide-open to what God has for me. I don’t want to tolerate bad habits or too much busy-ness or any other distractions or sin in my life…I want more of God, more of His presence, to see His love and evidence of His Holy Spirit active in my family daily. I am asking God to make me into the woman He wants me to be – so that I can in turn be the best wife, mom, teacher, teacher, daughter, sister, minister, friend.

Proverbs 2:2-11 (NLT)

  Tune your ears to wisdom, and concentrate on understanding. Cry out for insight, and ask for understanding. Search for them as you would for silver; seek them like hidden treasures. Then you will understand what it means to fear the Lord, and you will gain knowledge of God. For the Lord grants wisdom! From His mouth come knowledge and understanding. He grants a treasure of common sense to the honest. He is a shield to those who walk with integrity. He guards the paths of the just and protects those who are faithful to him. Then you will understand what is right, just, and fair, and you will find the right way to go. For wisdom will enter your heart, and knowledge will fill you with joy. Wise choices will watch over you. Understanding will keep you safe.

God as we embark on this fast, I pray that you would open our eyes and ears to your ways. Cause us to listen, and to hear you. Let us seek you moment after moment and seek your wisdom. Teach us more of your ways and continue to work things out in us so that we can be more like you. We desire your very best for us. Thank you Lord. You are always faithful. Amen.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Starting 2012 with a Daniel Fast

  1. Tika says:

    Me too! Well, actually I am studying Daniel while fasting. Cleansing and purifying my body and my life in preparation for this year. I am also praying for wisdom and healing, hoping this is the year He heals me:)
    Blessings to you, my friend ❤ May He bless your family with a wonderful year ahead!

    • jaw123456 says:

      How great to hear from you Tika…Ah! I love that we are doing similar things although we are thousands of miles apart. Have a very blessed New Year! And I will join you in praying for healing.

Leave a Reply

