Homeschooling…Why?

I cannot count the times we have been asked this question. I say “we” because people do not just ask me. They approach my children with questions like, “How do you like being homeschooled?” Or, “If you had a choice would you choose to go to public school or to be homeschooled?” Or, “What do you do for fun?” Or, “Do you have any friends?”And there are many more questions that demonstrate a general lack of knowledge about homeschooling, and the ultimate question…”Why homeschool?”

The simple answer is this, as a parent, I believe that I am fully responsible before God for the choices I make regarding my children. This includes their education. I am convinced that the most important part of education is discipleship. God’s design for relationship, for covenant, is the family. Within the family, parents are charged with bringing up their children in the way they should go. Parents are to be teaching their children at all times.  Deuteronomy

Before I go on, I feel as though I should address the fact that many of my friends choose to educate their children in the public system. My friends love their children deeply, and I am certain that they have many reasons for their educational choices for their children. In writing this I am focusing on what my convictions are, and why my husband and I choose to homeschool. As you read this I hope you hear my heart. I realize that parenting issues can be very sensitive. By no means am I writing this to cause any hard feelings. I am simply responding to from my convictions about this important question that I am often faced with.

I am convinced that God is the Creator. I believe that He is the only true God. I believe that Jesus Christ was sent to pay a debt for all mankind. Knowing what I believe about God, about Jesus as my Savior and the calling on my life as a parent, I made the choice to school my children from home. Knowing that God granted them to me, and that I want their education to be Christ centered this became my focus. Two of my eldest children were in public and private school settings prior to us bringing them home full-time. We found that although their teachers were conscientious and caring, the general curricula left no room for God. In fact children were discouraged in their beliefs about the Lord in the public setting. Many other ideas were presented. Most times the educational material they were presented with ignored the existence of God or opposed the gospel outright. In general the school system was hostile towards Christianity. This opposition was sometimes subtle, and even then we felt it undermined the moral fiber of the Christian faith.

When I worked outside of our home, and had my children in school, I realized day after day, that my children were away from our influence as parents. They were involved in after school sports, social activities and church, and they probably slept about 10 hours per night. By the time we had dinner cleaned up and did homework, we had very little quality time to enter into the type of relationships that we wanted to cultivate with our children. Discipleship, through modeling and teaching and living was left to just “happen” on the weekends, and this too was not nearly enough time. With grocery shopping meal planning, weekend chores, laundry, social events, sports, church, and entertainment – we did not have the time together we needed as a family. Even when our children were in Christian school or participating in Christian events, we still needed time as a family to develop our relationships. Discipleship cannot just happen. This kind of parenting requires thoughtful, deliberate action, day after day. We have seen amazing blessings in our lives and with our family that are a direct correlation with our choice to homeschool.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homeschooling…Why?

  1. 4writermom says:

    I LOVE the fact that you and who are, you believe in what you believe and you’re doing what you’ve deemed as best for your children/family. BRAVO! I’m homeschooling my youngest son for completely different reasons, yet ultimately our goals are quite similar. It’s not an easy task to undergo aside from the religious aspect, but once you add the element of religious reasons to the equation, this process of homeschooling tends to be filled with more outside criticisms and judgement. KUDOS to you and I wish you continued success!
    PEACE!

    • jaw123456 says:

      Thank you! I wish you all the best as you school your youngest at home as well 🙂 And may you enjoy the time together.

  2. Well said my friend! I couldn’t have said it better myself! Even above my desire to have Christian Curriculum, my desire to disciple my son and ultimately have TIME with him have proved to be my greatest desires and my greatest joy. My son will graduate in 4 more years or less and I just can’t imagine missing the added 40 hours+ each week if he were in public or private school.

    God has expanded my view of just what a BLESSING my son is and I am afraid I might have missed it without getting to know him so well through our Homeschooling time. We have a relationsihp that has exceeded my hopes. And our first year and 1/2 was a little bumpy but we’ve been BEYOND blessed since and I’m so glad I stuck with it!

    Thanks for being a great encouragement and example!

    • jaw123456 says:

      Jessica, What an encouragement it is to me as well, to see Mom’s enter into this adventure! And even though the road has bumps along the way we persevere and reap the benefits of the many blessings! I am happy that I could have been an encouragement to you,too! xo

  3. home2learn says:

    oh friend, this post resonated. you remember those days where i’d bring my girl to you for care during the summer days, whilst i spend my day at work … longing to be home with my girl. discipling, training, loving, LIVING. it is good, hard work. love you, friend.

  4. jaw123456 says:

    Yes, Emily! I do rememeber those days and the prayers that were lifted up as we prayed together that God would make a way for this homeschooling lifestyle to become a reality for your family. It is so good to look back and see the fruit of all those prayers we prayed! It is work….and it is so worth it! Thank you God for allowing this time with our precious little ones! xo

Leave a Reply

