Staying Connected?

Recently, I received an ad in the mail from a well-known cellular phone company. I was intrigued by pictures depicting sweet family times. Beautiful pictures of men and women holding small children…playing together, riding bikes, holding onto one another…precious, smiling faces full of innocence and joy.

Since the ad was for cell phones, and specifically about text messaging, I had to ask… What do these pictures have to do with texting? None of the photos had cell phones in them. ANd the children pictured were far too young to have a cell phone (I hope). In fact, all of the activities these parents were participating in with their children could not have been accomplished with a cell phone in hand. Have you ever tried to ride a bike with your child on the handle bars and send a text? It’s just not going to happen. Interesting choice of pictures for advertising.

In this modern world, there is so much access to technology. It can be a huge help when we are researching a particular topic. I personally enjoy and appreciate the ease technology often brings. I am quick to shoot out a text when I do not have time for a phone call. And my cell phone gets lots of use each day. I appreciate having access to technology. And, there is so much more I appreciate about the closeness of family relationships. The beauty of time spent together, making memories and creating moments of closeness, is  more valuable than any technology.

Many times, my computer or my cell phone can actually hinder time with my family. Phones ringing during dinner, or text messages beeping through our studies. There are many times my phone must be silenced so that life, and closeness, and the important investment of time in our relationships will not be interrupted. I realize that sometimes, my children feel the pressure to respond to the phone when I do not. They have learned the sound of the various chimes. They may pick up my phone from the counter and run it to me when I am in another room. There have been times I have chosen not to answer, and they feel the need to get my attention, “Mom, you just got a message.” I assure them I will check it later.

I want to give the message to the children that they are far more important than any other communication. And although there are times when I must use the phone for work and ministry, my children are my first ministry, my first priority. This requires a focused Mama. Today, the phones and computers will be put away during our studies and our time together.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Staying Connected?

  1. Kimi says:

    Vital information…everyone who owns a cell phone should be reading this! Luv u Jess!

  2. MeriJean Seward says:

    AMEN!!!

Leave a Reply

