Too Many Books, Too Little Time

Books, books, books!

Preparing for the coming school year can be very exciting. There is so much to plan for, so many books to find. I so enjoy receiving books in the mail. I miss going to a bookstore and coming home with an arm load of books. I visited a local used book store the other day. Found a couple goodies!

Right now I have several books started, which I have a terrible habit of doing. I want to read them all… and I cannot decide which one to read first, so I read them all for different reasons. Some I scan and get to a chapter that speaks to my heart. Read it. Put that book away for a while. Start another. At any given time I may be reading books about parenting, purity, drawing nearer to God, homeschooling, encouragement, bible study, organizing, etc. Each feeding a different interest.

Here are a couple of books I am reading right now…

I Kissed Dating Goodbye, by Joshua Harris. I have read this before…but it was so long ago I couldn’t remember much. This is a wonderful book about remaining pure before and for marriage. It takes a candid look at sin, making mistakes, being repentant and seeking God for a fresh start. It is a must read for anyone looking to better understand the current trend of dating and how to raise up young people who understand the need for courtship.

Heaven is for Real, by Todd Burpo. This book does a nice job re-telling the story of a family who came through some very difficult times, to discover that during one of the hardest times, their young son experienced an incredible supernatural encounter. My  children and I are enjoying reading this together

I just completed a bible study, David: A Heart Like His, by Beth Moore.  Wow. I always enjoy her teaching! The historical context, mixed with raw emotion, and truths about who David was – very powerful!  This study was another excellent source that I added to my daily bible reading. It was great to take a deeper look into the life of David, his family, his kingdom, and God’s hand in his life. I appreciated understanding more about the Psalms he wrote during times of triumph and times of defeat.

In our schooling, we are reading Exploring Creation with Astronomy by Jeannie K. Fulbright. We will complete this book sometime this month. We have thoroughly enjoyed the reading and the experiments. We greatly appreciate the focus on our Creator in every detail of studying astronomy.

Of course I must mention my go-to-Homeschooling-reference-manual, Educating The Whole-Hearted Child by Clay and Sally Clarkson. I ordered a new copy several weeks ago and I eagerly anticipate its arrival!

Embarrassingly, this is not it. I hope to get to them all someday!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Book Reviews, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

