Natural Learning

As a homeschooling Mama, there are times I can overlook these moments. Other times, I can enjoy them, nurture them and even create opportunities for us to have more of them. These moments I speak of are those that take place outside the curriculum, outside of the typical school parameters.

I recently purchased three large maps for our new school year and hung them in our dining room. These maps may not be your average dining room decor, but the space works for our family. I specifically wanted maps that would make it easy for all my children to find names and places they recognize. We also located the countries of origin for children we are sponsoring through Compassion International. While preparing our dinner, I heard my children excitedly talking about flags from different nations, various places they have visited or want to visit.  They spoke of bordering towns, cities and countries. I heard various trivia questions make their way around the room. I was pleasantly surprised to hear their responses. They were having a great time. Learning. I did not speak a word. I just let the moment continue.

The learning continues in the back yard. Lizards are found, and caught. Caity and Jay rattle off all the facts they know about these little critters. They know the different types and colors of geckos, chameleons, skinks (do we really have skinks here in Hawai’i?). Swings, slide and the trampoline add to the learning as movement abounds! Physical science lessons in the making. Biology comes to life as the avocado, mountain apple, banana, and orange trees blossomed and now have fruit.

Learning in our natural environment – our home, our yard, the beach.

Help me Lord to always be thankful for the amazing opportunity to teach and disciple my children at home. This short season of life is truly a gift. I am honored to share the time with them.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

