De-Cluttering

I recently wrote to a friend who has a family twice the size of mine. I wanted to glean from her wisdom. You see, I am on a search for systems that work for large families. There are so many areas I need help in! Such as organizing and keeping up with laundry, making the best use of space, and keeping things simple in general. Creating more spaces for learning and decreasing clutter.

My friend wrote such a wonderful response. Asking me great questions, and offering practical solutions. Aware of my struggle to keep up, her response was such an encouragement to me. It helped me to confirm some of the things I was doing well, and some of the things I need to consider implementing.

The light bulb went on for me when she spoke of de-cluttering. She recognized that our family had done significant purging some time ago, as we made our move over the Pacific. She said de-cluttering with a large family is constant. So true! Constant because 8 of us bring stuff into the house at all times. Ads, mail, projects, papers from church, birthday parties, goodie bags, prizes, new things, too-small-clothes  (and everything I forgot to mention) take up space. In the children’s closets, I notice that many things fall down with half-a-dozen pairs of hands reaching into the same closet many times a day. My friend suggested hanging a second rod in each closet. It works so well! Now I am trying to decide on what types of baskets and containers would be best for different spaces.

As I am cleaning out this summer, and working on becoming more organized, I am working to keep things simple and user-friendly. I also feel motivated to do some decorating which I have not done in years and to create some more “homey” places in my living space. Sally Clarkson www.itakejoy.com gives great advice about deliberately creating learning spaces in your home. She also encourages families to hang pictures of wonderful memories and great times around their home. So those are two areas I am incorporating into my de-cluttering…hanging memories and creating more nooks for learning!

Oh and there are so many spiritual metaphors during this process…clean things out, de-clutter the mind and heart, keep it simple, think on things thinking on things that are pure, true, lovely and righteous!

I am thankful for the women in my life, that I can call on (via phone, email, Facebook or blog!) and ask questions of, and they are quick to answer with practical information. Thank you God for bringing great women into my life!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to De-Cluttering

  1. Love it! I am in the process of purging as well. It is amazing how much ‘stuff’ I have that I don’t even use or look at regularly but that I cringe to get rid of.

    I love the idea of learning areas and family memories. I need more of both! Thanks for the motivation. (I actually cleaned off the top of my refrigerator which was piled high with ‘stuff’ yesterday and today I keep staring at it thinking it looks so nice and I don’t even miss any of the stuff that was up there!)

  2. Stacey says:

    Hi Jess!
    I recently discovered a great web site that has wonderful homemade decorating ideas (among many other topics), that may be fun for you to check out! It’s pinterest.com. Check it out! Hope you are all doing well. Headed to Oregon soon. Will miss all of you! Xoxo

    • jaw123456 says:

      Aloha Friend! I will check out that site. Thank you! Have a safe trip to Oregon. Wish I was able to come to the mainland for a visit. Maybe soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

