Keep it Simple

Many times, I have been held up. Held back by myself really. There may be something I really want to do, but I feel that it would be too difficult or too much work. Maybe there is a place I want to go, but in my mind I make it an all day affair and think of all the work entailed in bringing six children. Packing lunches, diaper bags, sunscreen, beach toys, stroller, etc. So I get held up. Held back by the work or the tasks at hand.  

This week, my motto was keep it simple. I took my kids to the beach before our lessons this week. We had a wonderful swim. The first day, they were questioning if we would be able to get to the beach with all our stuff and come home and be able to complete school. I assured them we would. Some were disappointed with my answer. As we were attempting to load the car, half-a-dozen children came out with all kinds of things to bring. I sent them back in the house, one by one, explaining many times over that we are going to keep it simple. All we need to enjoy the ocean is ourselves and a bathing suit…maybe a bottle of water, sunscreen and towels. They still worked to bring more stuff. We settled for brining masks and snorkels as well and the packing list was complete. Children in the car. Here we go!

Simple. The children who joined me out in the deeper blue water had a great lesson in Oceanography. We saw large sea cucumbers, spotted eel, several different variations of sea urchin (brown and white stripped, pink, black, and pencil), vibrant yellow tang, convict tang, many partnered uhu (parrot fish), trumpet fish, honu (sea turtle) on its way out of the reef, humuhumunukunukuapua’a and puffer fish, just to name a few. Wonderful Creation!

When it was time to go, none of us were ready. Packing up was simple. Uncomplicated. We kept it so simple we did it again the next day and another family joined us!

Living in such a beautiful place, I never want to be so busy with life indoors that we forget to enjoy the great outdoors. Sometimes I must remind myself to keep it simple. Even if that means our lessons are a bit delayed. Or we have to work into the afternoon…it was worth it!

Heavenly Father I want to thank you. Thank you for life, for your creation, for time outdoors with my family. Thank you Lord for helping me to keep it simple. Help me to keep it simple in other areas of my life as well. I am grateful for all your blessings!  

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

