One of those days….

Ever have one of those days? Well, I did. I do. Yesterday was one of those days. Looking back on yesterday gives me a different perspective. In the light of today, yesterdays events are actually somewhat humorous. Ah, today was a new day, a glorious day. Thank you God that your mercies are new every morning!

Yesterday started off in the best way possible. I woke earlier than normal and was able to spend nearly three hours alone, worshipping, reading, praying and journaling. I received a text message from a sweet sister in the Lord. She said God had put me on her heart (I love it when He does that!) and she wanted me to know that she was praying for me. She also shared a scripture reference for me to look up. This scripture was a perfect complement to what I was already reading this morning! Sweet confirmation. My eldest daughter asked me to join her for a workout (again), and I did. It was a tough one…sore quads and abs. It was good to be sore. 

As the children began to rise, one by one, my house transformed from being a quiet sanctuary to a bustling place of sound and movement. 

Beginning to make a hot breakfast I see out of the corner of my eye, my three-year old making a mad dash, down the hall, to my bedroom. Before I can get to him, he dips my cell phone into the toilet. Within the next hour, the door to my son’s room will not open. It seems as though the doorknob has come loose, and is now stuck. We were to meet some family friends at the beach at a specific time. Unfortunately, we were going to be late, but I did not have the phone number to call (trapped in my water-logged cell phone). As I search for the number my eldest son crawls through his window hoping to get the door open. Now stuck in his room. He realizes the door is not opening…he tries taking it off at the hinges. No luck. Back through the window. My middle son cuts his arm crawling in after big brother. Attitudes in the house are flaring. Selfishness comes to the surface and suddenly everyone seems to be against one another rather than working together as a team. I feel overwhelmed. Praying silently as everything seems to be spinning around me.

We leave for the beach just before things completely unravel. This was a good move. There is something amazing about being out in God’s creation. Wading into warm clear water. Playing with my kids outside…and although I have to provide line-of-sight supervision of my pre-schooler, being at the beach was great medicine for all of us. I thank God for the calm, the lull of the waves, His people, His blessings, His creation. I feel better already. My soul is at ease.

Trying to get kids in the car is an ordeal. My youngest daughter has dipped herself back into the ocean three more times after her shower. She made a new friend, and she is reluctant to leave. I am busy giving goodbye kisses and hugs, she enters the water again and again. We finally have everyone. Walk to our far-off parking space, and head home. Walk in to broken glass. While we were gone the wind blew the screen from the kitchen window, shattering a glass that was on the counter. Splinters cover the floor and counters. Hurry, get ready for worship practice. Arrive at church. Okay I am ready to worship. A song that we sang during service set my heart ablaze…”Your love never fails, it never gives up, it never runs out on me!”

Resting and re-reading my journal entry for the day, I am reminded of the sweet presence of God that I have the pleasure of experiencing. How blessed am I? Anyone reading my journal would not know about the day I had. They would sense the presence and peace of God. I am moved. Realizing God is just as present in the challenge as he is in the blessing. God remains ready to bless us through all circumstances. He sees our needs and He meets us right where we are at. God is good and so faithful. No matter what the circumstances of my days are, He never changes. He is faithful. He is able. 

Heavenly Father, I thank you that you are so available to meet all of my needs. Even in the trying times, You are there…ready to bless me, to shower me with your presence, your love, your goodness. Help me Lord…I do not want to be shaped by my circumstances. I want to sense your presence and your peace through every situation – blessing or challenge. I love your presence.  Thank you Lord that you prompted my friend to be in prayer for me today. I needed it! I thank you for waking me early. You knew I needed more time with you today. I cannot imagine what my day could have ended like had I not spent precious time with you. You are greater than every mountain that I face. You are worthy of all honor. Amen. 

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One of those days….

  1. Wow Jess….that was one crazy day, but SO sweet how God carried you through.

Leave a Reply

