What is Home Education?

Over the past several years, we have been asked many questions about our choices to educate our children at home. Many of these questions come out of a sincere desire to understand homeschooling. Others may come from a place of doubt, or general misunderstanding. I assume more people may have questions, and for various reasons they choose not to ask. Generally, I enjoy answering questions because I enjoy talking about homeschooling. The lifestyle and discipleship are two particular areas I am passionate about. Exploring options with families about how to make this lifestyle work well and benefit everyone involved is an encouragement to me.

I will be writing a series of blogs about the different questions people ask myself and my family about homeschooling. It is good for me to explore my responses so that I stay true to my ideals and my convictions. From the comments and questions I hear, it seems to me that I encounter many people would like to homeschool, and yet it seems daunting to them, so they have chosen to stay away. 

Many of the questions that are asked boil down to the who, what, when, where, why and how of homeschooling.

Here are some examples. WHO? Who teaches the children? You or your husband? Who grades their papers? Who checks on you to make sure you are completing necessary tasks as a teacher? WHAT? What about socialization? What about your career? What curriculum do you use? What does your school day look like? What on earth were you thinking? WHEN? When do your children see friends? When do you start and stop your school year? When do you start and stop your school day? WHERE? Where do you conduct your lessons? Do you have a classroom? Where in your home do you hold class? Where do you get your curriculum? WHY? Why would you choose to school your children at home when there is a government school system? When you pay taxes, you are paying for their education anyway, so why wouldn’t you send them? Why don’t you send them to private school? HOW? How do you do it? How do your children make friends? How do you run your household? How do you school several different age groups of children? How much does it cost? How do you keep your records? How do you give grades? How do you choose curriculum? How do you teach subjects you are not very familiar with? How do you keep up?

You get the idea. It will be good to answer these questions and more!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

