Reality Check

Okay…I had this moment today…a reality check. That surreal feeling I was experiencing yesterday has left. I am feeling the reality sink in. The real deal? Ben is not just gone, he is out of touch. He is in another country. I will not be speaking with him for ten days. I heard from him last night as they landed in Miami, prior to leaving for Haiti. As we were hanging up (which he had to go rather quickly) we both realized that we will not likely talk again until he is back in Miami. Once he embarks on the journey back across the United States and eventually to our island home, I am sure to hear from him.

We have been apart before. However, I cannot remember a time when we have been out of touch. We have always had the reassurance of checking in on the phone, e-mail, or text (only if he has no other way to reach out).  Touching base, hearing the voice of the other and sharing the details of our days, somehow seems to lessen the distance. 

I am in prayer for Ben and the team many times a day. That will keep me feeling connected.

Heavenly Father, I thank you again for the opportunity to serve You. I thank you for the members of the team who were able to make this trip and work to help get families off the streets in Haiti. Thank you for all those who donated time, money and supplies for the sake of the Haitian people. Let Your word go forth. Let Your LOVE  shine through each member.  Cause them to be a tremendous blessing to the local people they meet, the missionaries on the YWAM base – let everywhere they set their feet be a blessed place! As always I ask for your protection over them – over their physical bodies, their minds, their spirits. Keep them healthy, full of joy, and in unity as a team. Allow them the opportunity to remember how blessed they are. Remind them that they are Your ambassadors! And Father, I pray that each of them would be filled with energy and endurance to build this house they will complete this week. Let each of the team members and people they meet with have an encounter with You! Lord, I love You and trust You.  

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

