Haiti Countdown – 25 days

My children and I starting to make more time to talk about Haiti. The Haitian people, the devastation they have seen from natural disaster. Slavery, poverty, homelessness, voodoo.

We looked at pictures of makeshift shelters that were put up in an attempt to provide a temporary place of shelter for the 1,000,000 people who were displaced after last years devastating earthquake. We saw pictures of children and mothers wading through heaps of trash. We saw hillsides that were once abundant with vegetation, dry and bare. The weight of this reality hits hard. Especially as we experience a very comfortable American life. Don’t get me wrong. We have experienced trying financial times and times of abundance…and in our most trying times, we have never experienced anything quite like the people of Haiti.

We saw pictures of the homes my husband will be going to build. That encouraged us. We listened to testimonies of those who now have a place to live and a fresh start. That encouraged us more. We received the first sign of financial support in the mail and that blessed us. We received several emails with people sharing that they will join us in prayer. Wow! We all cannot go over seas. Including me. I cannot go this time. But my husband can. I can pray, I can offer encouragement, and I can learn about the people, and I can give. 

Thank you friends and family for your encouragement, your love, your prayers and your support for the people of Haiti. And of course for the team of people going to bless and serve in that nation. I know that many have gone before and many will continue to go. It is always encouraging to me to hear of personal friends who have touched the lives of others. To hear the testimonies they bring back. It excites me to see people reaching out in tangible ways to be the hands and feet of Christ.

Lord, I  continue to pray for the team that is preparing to go. There is still much to do. Thank You or your faithfulness. Lord, please speak to the heart of each prayer partner. Give them direction and show them what to pray. Thank you Lord for every team member. I ask that you would bless them with terrific health. Help the preparations to go smoothly. Lord, I also ask that You would give each of them a greater vision. More insight into the people they will meet while in Haiti. Speak to their hearts about the messages You have for them to share and ways you want them to bless that nation. Thank you Lord for the opportunity and the ability to go to the nations. Please keep each person close to You in the coming weeks. Help them to draw into you in a greater way, to seek you more and to read your Word as they prepare. Thank You in advance for all you have planned! Amen!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

