From Potty Training to Parenting Teens

Sometimes things get messy. Sometimes there are tantrums. Sometimes people are grouchy. Sometimes people need to be held. Sometimes backs need to be rubbed and hair needs to be tousled. Sometimes things need to be repeated several times. Sometimes more. Sometimes my voice gets louder than it should and I remind myself that they are just learning – mastering the skills that this childhood affords them the time to master. Sometimes mistakes are made, and accidents happen. Sometimes we need a time-out…all of us.

When I see the most success, is when I am consistent. My children’s success often reflects the time and effort that I put into things. As I provide them with nurture and reassurance, they gain greater confidence along the way. It is important to create opportunities for them to practice. Making allowance for them to be a part of the process and even make mistakes. They are working to master many skills in their childhood. These years are short. Consistency is vital. I remind myself that discipleship is a wonderful process, not an event.

Thank you Lord for the opportunity to teach my children. Help me to stay grounded in Your Word and Your ways. My desire is to teach my children well. Help me to be consistent and intentional with my children in all areas of learning and growing. Thank You Lord for Your grace and Your love!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Potty Training to Parenting Teens

  1. Very well said. It was not long ago that I was reminded that it is actually better when our kids make mistakes while living under our care because that allows us the opportunity to teach them, to love them, to forgive them, and to lead by example.

    Recently one lady at Bible study was sharing how she had begun to give her teenage son his whole weeks lunch allowance on Mondays, she gave him instruction of how that money was to last until Friday, and explained that if that money should run out before Friday, then he would have to either pack a lunch, go without, or eat in the cafeteria (which at his age was a terrible thought now that he’s old enough to eat off campus). And a few weeks later, as she has suspected would occur at some point, he ran out of money for the week. She had given him the opportunity to learn the lesson while still under her care and guidance. He did experience the natural consequences, but still while under the wings of his parents.

    I love the idea of creating opportunities for them to practice!

    • jaw123456 says:

      Life is full of wonderful opportunities! Our children are in training, and I love that God chose us to be the coaches for them. May we lead well!

Leave a Reply

