Haiti Bound!

My husband is soon headed for Haiti! I mentioned this in a blog sometime last year, and finally he is nearing his time to go. I will add his support letter to my blog so you can hear from his heart and understand a little more about what he will be doing. Until then please keep him in prayer as he raises support and moves forward to leave in about four weeks. I have taken out our personal contact info, however if you want to reach us about this, please leave a comment on this blog and we will get back to you.

Dear Friends and Family,

I hope this letter finds you all well!   

I am writing you to share about an amazing opportunity that has been presented to me. I have been accepted to serve with a mission team going to Haiti! A team is being sent from my church to work in cooperation with YWAM (Youth with a Mission) Haiti, and Homes of Hope. 

After the 2004 and 2008 hurricanes, followed by the devastating earthquake in 2010, large numbers of Haitian people are still in need of housing. Homes of Hope works to help families in need by building duplexes that will provide a home for two families. Single mothers, and families with three or more children, who clearly cannot provide for their own housing are among those who can be a recipient of one of these Homes of Hope. Each home consists of two rooms, a locking door, wooden doors and windows, and a tin roof.

My team and I need your prayers! Here are some prayer requests I have at this time.

1)      For my personal safety and the safety of my family while I am out of the country

2)      For our team and the members of the YWAM team we will be working with

3)      That we will be effective in sharing God’s love through our actions, our words and our life while we are there in Haiti.  

4)      Please pray that the finances needed to cover this trip will come in quickly and will cover all the needs for our team.

Each team member is responsible for raising 100% of their own support, and the cost of the building materials. The building materials for this duplex are approximately $6,000. Each team member personally needs $2,500 to cover airfare, lodging, food and ground transportation. The mission is approximately two weeks long, and it should take approximately five full working days for a team to complete one duplex.

On a personal note, we have had an incredible year –a year of great changes, full of blessings and challenges. We have faced our own trials this year in the area of employment and finances. And although there have been challenging times, they have been nothing compared to what the Haitian people have experienced. God has been more than faithful to provide for all of our needs. I see this mission’s trip as an opportunity to share the love of God with a hurting world, and to give back of my time and resources because God has been so faithful in taking care of me and my family.  

I pray that people will continue to be led to Christ as we have the opportunity to share the Gospel with them while we are there.

I am very excited about this opportunity. Will you please consider sharing this assignment with me as the Lord leads you to pray and/or give? Financial and prayer support are both essential to me being able to go to Haiti.

Please feel free to call me, or contact me by email with any questions you may have.

In service of the King,

Ben

Isaiah 58:7 Share your food with the hungry, and give shelter to the homeless

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

