Growing Together in Wisdom

Recently, my children and I read through the New Testament and Major Prophets. We were blessed by looking at the life of Jesus. Being reminded of his life full of miracles, a life full of ministering to those around him. He lived a lifestyle of discipleship, teaching them daily, and encouraging them to live out their faith. I never want to take for granted the amazing Word that we have access to, and the gift we have of being able to view history through a biblical perspective.

We are now re-reading the Old Testament. Currently we have entered the time of David being anointed as King, and the choices he made to honor Saul even when Saul was not acting in an honorable manner. Up until this point there have been some very difficult topics to read through and discuss with my children. War, plagues, famine and sexual sin just to name a few. There have been many times when a child will ask, “Mom, what does _____ mean?” And we stop and discuss each issue along the way.

There are deep theological questions that make their way into our living room. At times, I watch as my children furrow their brows, attempting to make sense of someone’s pain, or mistakes, and even the wrath of God.  

I cannot say that I am always ready to be having these conversations. I am often tempted to just rush through some chapters of the Bible in an effort to avoid certain subjects. I am more inclined to focus on scriptures about God’s grace, love, abundance, and blessings. Of course God has all of that for us, and yet there are also difficult passages that we need to learn from as well.

I am honored to walk through this life alongside of my children. I am blessed with the opportunity to study the Word with them daily. As we read together, and work together, we realize there is so much more to learn. And so, we press on searching for answers together. We pour over the scriptures, looking at the world through a biblical lens, determined to seek God’s truth in all things. We are growing together in wisdom and truth. 

Proverbs 3:5-18

 Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding.

Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.  

Don’t be impressed with your own wisdom. Instead, fear the Lord and turn away from evil.

 Then you will have healing for your body and strength for your bones.

 Honor the Lord with your wealth and with the best part of everything you produce.

  Then he will fill your barns with grain and your vats will overflow with good wine.

My child, don’t reject the Lord’s discipline, and don’t be upset when he corrects you.

For the Lord corrects those he loves, just as a father corrects a child in whom he delights. 

Joyful is the person who finds wisdom, the one who gains understanding.

For wisdom is more profitable than silver, and her wages are better than gold.

Wisdom is more precious than rubies; nothing you desire can compare with her.

She offers you long life in her right hand, and riches in her left.

She will guide you down delightful paths; all her ways are satisfying.

Wisdom is a tree of life to those who embrace her; happy are those who hold her tightly.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Growing Together in Wisdom

  1. rixgal says:

    Haven’t been here in a while. We’ve been home with Nora for four months…. and I still can’t get caught up with my life. I have missed you! We are also reading about David and Saul right now. VERY interesting topics of who we should emulate and why.
    Be blessed! ~Linda

    • jaw123456 says:

      So good to see you on here again! I missed you, too 😉 I can hardly believe it has already been 4 months! Wow! I loved seeing the pictures you posted of your journey of meeting your daughter…looking forward to seeing more.

Leave a Reply

