Purity

About 20 years ago God began to birth a message deep in my heart. It was a message of purity. At the time, I had no one to mentor me in the scriptures and disciple me in God’s plans for remaining pure. In my thinking at the time, purity meant virginity. In my early twenties, I was just beginning to understand that purity started in my mind and in my heart. It was much more than something physical – it was deeply spiritual. God faithfully revealed to me areas in my heart and mind that needed His redemption. It has been quite a process. I am committed to this pursuit of purity, for myself and for my children. 

Raising children in this media driven culture can be a challenge. It is a battle that we must face with prayer and diligence. Being aware of the onslaught of messages we are confronted with in movies, music, ideas and widely held beliefs of secular society provide many opportunities for us to teach our children. This quest for purity is a journey. With every step we take we must seek the opportunity to teach, to listen, to respond in love and in prayer. 

We teach our children the value of purity throughout their lifetime. It does not begin with puberty. Rather it begins at the beginning of their little lives. With messages of love, and God’s best. Messages that give them an understanding of the value that God has placed in their lives. That they are worthy and respectable. That they have a hope and a future. That we as their parents are readily available to have the difficult conversations, and to intervene. That we are able to assist them in guarding their hearts as they grow and mature into the men and women God has intended for them to be.

This topic of purity is inexhaustible. It is interwoven into every area of our lives whether we acknowledge it or not. So we press in asking God for wisdom with each day to keep our lives pure, to keep our hearts and mind focused on Him, His goodness, His love. Feeding on the Word. Asking for forgiveness. Recognizing areas in our lives that need restoration. Realizing we can become comfortable and forget the high standards we once had, or those that we wished we had. Trust Him. Let Him reveal His truth, His best in our everyday lives. He is a good God.

“Everything is pure to those whose hearts are pure.” Titus 1:15

“…make every effort to be found living peaceful lives that are pure and blameless in His sight.” 2 Peter 3:14b 

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Purity

  1. Leanne says:

    Sought out this post this morning after some “hubub” on our local homeschool message board about things that parents allow their children to read, watch or participate in. So many parents are offended when someone brings up possible ramifications of books or games involving “pretend” magic or sorcery. So many think nothing of taking their children to movies that glamorize violence or a lifestyle contrary to God’s word and say you’re making a big deal out of it, “It’s just for entertainment.” Sometimes I “pride” myself on how vigilant we are with what we don’t allow into our home, minds and hearts – and God says, “Wait a minute…what about…?” And He refines me further and asks me to reel it in even more, because I, too, can be guilty. “But I’m better than “them” because I’m more prudent (or prudish :-)” – and then He reminds me that the decisions and actions of others are not my standard. That He calls me to be Holy as He is Holy. God is speaking to me about NEVER LETTING UP because the battle for the hearts and minds of our children doesn’t. Oh Lord, refine me. Give me wisdom and humility and grace and strength to not surrender to our culture’s wooing. And protect our son from the influences of the one who prowls like a roaring lion – in movies, in books, in games, on billboards and storefronts we drive by and in conversations with those influenced more by our culture than Your word – so that he can continue the battle to keep his mind and heart pure.

    Thank you, Jessica, for being an encouragement! Love you!

    • jaw123456 says:

      Hi Leanne,
      It is a battle! I am familiar with that prideful position as it has risen up for me, too. As you also made mention, I too can be more prideful about the things that I don’t do! The key is being diligent to pray for our children. Praying that they would long for a wonderful relationship with Jesus and that their hearts would be solely His. As we pray for them, we teach our children about our convictions and stand firm. Be blessed as you stand firm my friend! Love you, too !

Leave a Reply

