Tsunami Warning

We are praying for the people of Japan tonight. Watching the devastation of the earthquakes and tsunami repeatedly on the news, causes my heart to become heavier each time. And as we look at the scenes on television we cannot ignore the sirens sounding here on the island of Hawai’i.

I was in a meeting this evening when I received a call from a family member. He had just seen the news about Japan and shared his concern for us. At that time I had no idea about the earthquake or tsunami warnings. Immediately after my meeting I went to Wal-Mart to stock up on supplies. I was surprised at all the wagons that were gone. As I made my way down the aisles, I realized that shelves were already being cleared. Customers were taking supplies straight off of the large pallet jacks as employees were pushing these throughout the store in an attempt to replenish the shelves.

Carts were full of cases of water, toilet paper, bags of rice, saimin, spam, vienna sausage, tuna, canned chicken. Shelves were emptying as people were wishing neighbors and friends well. Although people were determined to get what they needed, everyone was courteous and kind as they went about collecting their supplies.

My family and I live on higher ground. We are not in the tsunami evacuation zone. My biggest concern would be losing our access to clean water. I have purchased water and filled containers as well in case we need extra water for flushing toilets washing dishes and cooking. 

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC) is certain that Hilo will be affected. Even after the first wave passes, they expect multiple waves at this time. I just saw an update from our Governor. He says we have to wait now until the first wave hits Kauai. At that time we will have a better idea of how it will affect the rest of the islands. Praying for our friends in Kauai. Praying for protection for the people of Japan and the people of Hawai’i, and all people affected by this tragedy.

Thank you friends and family for your thoughts and prayers at this time. We appreciate you all. At this time we can receive email, and some text messages on occasion.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tsunami Warning

  1. Leanne Stauss says:

    Thank you for posting this, my dear friend. I had no idea until I woke up an hour ago of the quake or the tsunamis. We are praying for you and your family as well as the people of Japan and Hawai’i. We love you and are eagerly awaiting news of your safety after the tsunami hits.

Leave a Reply

