Hope in Loss

In this life, we are sure to encounter many losses – miscarriages, broken homes, relationships that wound, disease, distance, death. Loss of hope, loss of life, loss of innocence. We all face loss, hurt and pain. We are wounded in this life – this temporal, fleeting life that moves quickly and is nothing in comparison to eternity. It is but a training ground, as we work through challenges, blessing, healing, growing in faith and love for Him, and for each other.

Much time is spent pouring over this life – working through our woundedness, working to find the goodness of God in things that have broken us, or scarred someone we love. We examine details, we work, we worry, we become frustrated and even frozen at times. And we have a choice. We choose to trust God, or harden our hearts against Him.

(“Delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” Psalm 37:4)

Like everyone I have encountered so far in this life, I live with different disappointments, losses, hurts. I am faced with pain and sorrow. Faced with an empty womb. Broken trust. Seeking God’s face and hanging on to His promises for me – sometimes I hang on with clenched fists. Other times my soul clings to Him while my hands are open, ready to receive. I ask…where is the victory? Where is the hope, the promise of life?

(“For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11)

In my own healing, I ask God many questions. I pray and seek, shout and laugh. And make room for Him to bring healing. I have to uncover those places so that His balm can rush over those wounds. Covering me with His peace, His healing, His best, His love.

(“…being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” Philippians 1:6)

I still have questions. I still have doubts. I attempt to press on in my own strength. I push hard at times and relent at others. I still have dreams. And I have HOPE. Hope for a future, and hope for the here and now. Hope for promises fulfilled and a faith that tells me “ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE WITH GOD.”

(Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” Matthew 19:26)

The doubts that flood speak in their sarcastic tone. “Really? Are ALL things really possible with God?” My spirit rises up and says, “Yes.” And becomes louder and louder until I completely believe it again – YES!!

(“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.” Romans 8:28)

The encouragement of God begins to resound in my heart and in my mind. I am ready to receive what He has for me. He is good. His love never fails. His mercies are new every morning. He is forever faithful. And He loves me!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

