A Hui Hou!

Keiki and Grandma, Fall 2010

Kalun, 2010

 

Me and My Mom, Fall 2010

Grandpa and Keiki, 2010

We have just returned home from taking my parents to the airport. There were many tears shed. Especially from the eyes of my three daughters. My mom and I were trying to keep it together, so that the floodgates did not break open. We did a pretty good job, and only a few tears streamed down our cheeks. My throat hurt a little from holding back, and my face was reddened with the sadness of saying goodbye…again.

It was such a blessing to have my parents here. They were amazing. We all agreed that this seemed to be the fastest week in our lives so far.

We loved taking them around and sharing pieces of our life with them. They were able to visit our church and see their grandson play drums and listen to me sing. We toured Volcanoes National Park, and visited Onekahakaha beach. We visited the Mauna Loa Macadamia Nut Factory as well as Big Island Candies. One of our favorite days together was our trip to the west side of the island. We drove up to Kawaihae and saw many whales swimming and playing there. We were excited to see tails splashing, and huge whales hurling their enormous bodies out of the water. Such amazing creatures! We spent that day at Hapuna Beach riding the surf on our boogie boards, while my parents watched from the shore. The surf was high, and a lot of fun that day! My parents aren’t much for the water, but they said they enjoyed watching us have fun. That is a quintessential statement of a grandparent, “I enjoy watching you enjoy ___________.”

Hapuna Beach

Me...working with some of our youth on a human video

Of course there was the day, my birthday in fact, when they kept all six of our children for us as my husband whisked me away to Kona for an entire day of relaxation and fun together. Mom and I woke up each morning before anyone else and shared scriptures and devotional readings together over cups of coffee as the bright orange sun burst over the horizon. I will miss our mornings.

I was very aware of the miracle it is that my mother can travel. Several years ago she was in a wheelchair. The Lord has healed her of much. She is an amazing person. A woman who has overcome many obstacles, who has known what it means to be held captive and she understands what it means to be set free! She is a beautiful woman of God…a tiny woman of God. Don’t let her size fool you – she has been through much pain and sorrow and she is a walking testimony of God’s grace. She is a mighty little warrior…a tenderhearted, caring, compassionate giving women. She wants everyone in her life to be happy and healthy. She is a treasure.  I can’t wait to see her again! Next time I am hoping for a couple of weeks together – at least…because one is not enough.

“She is clothed with strength and dignity, and she laughs without fear of the future. When she speaks, her words are wise, and she gives instructions with kindness. She carefully watches everything in her household and suffers nothing from laziness. Her children stand and bless her….Charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last; but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised. Reward her for all she has done. Let her deeds publicly declare her praise.” Proverbs 31:25-28, 30-31

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

