Daniel Fast, Day Eighteen

Hot water with lemon has become my new morning companion during this fast. It does not replace my fondness for coffee, but I must say that I am enjoying it more than I expected. The last few days our menu has become a little weird. Not as many fresh greens…the end of the grocery budget. I hope to go to the store and pick up a few things tonight.

Today I have been thinking a little about how to add new foods back into my life after this fast is over. And I have especially wondered if I should add coffee back in…maybe I should not drink it daily, but I would like to enjoy it from time to time. Hmm….still thinking on that one…And what about foods? I am attending a pot-blessing Saturday evening. I anticipate there will be many different foods, however I do not break my fast until Sunday morning. So, I will likely be bringing lettuce wraps, with brown rice. This is a favorite dish of mine, and I am glad to share it with others.

My son Jayden will have his birthday party this Sunday after church. I am looking forward to hosting a couple of his friends and their families. He has requested that I make homemade pizza, and a S’mores cake for dessert. These foods are rich and not exactly how I planned to break the fast. So, I am thinking about what I should do for myself. My other children are going to be so excited to see such rich food, I know that they will want to dig right in! I will continue to encourage them to take it easy.

One more bit of exciting news…MY MOM WILL BE HERE SUNDAY!!! Yes, my mom and my step-dad are coming to share my 40th birthday with me. I am so excited! They are staying for a week. I have begged them to stay longer but this is all they can do this time around. We have so much planned! The kids and I will take a week off of school so we can enjoy every minute with them. Of course this week will include lots of cooking and many different kinds of foods. I am looking so forward to having them. And, again…I must plan and be prepared to not overindulge the week after this fast.

God reminded me today of his faithfulness to meet all of our needs. Last night my husband and I were having a conversation about finances and planning for the week to come with our sons birthday and the arrival of my parents. We were both keenly aware of our financial needs during this talk, and honestly my husband said “How are we going to do all of this?” My response, “I am believing that God is going to provide.” Within minutes after we finished that conversation I received a call about my washer and dryer back in Oregon. The ad has been on Craigslist for some time…well, someone wanted to come see it. My heart overflowed with excitement. God responded in that very moment. He knows our needs, and responds to them.

I am prompted again to study Matthew 6:24-33

No one can serve two masters. For you will hate one and love the other; you will be devoted to one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.

That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life – whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to Him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life?

And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith?

So don’t worry about these things, saying, “What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?” These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but Your heavenly father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously and He will give you everything you need.

Our Menu Today:

Breakfast: Fresh Papaya Smoothies with a little coconut milk and ice (creamy, tropical goodness!)

Lunch: Rice with tomatoes and non-GMO tofu all scrambled together, sliced fruit and veggies

Dinner: (needed to be quick) Oatmeal with blueberries and cinnamon

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

