Daniel Fast, Day Seventeen

“Give thanks to the Lord for He is good! His faithful love endures forever. Has the Lord redeemed you? Then speak out!” Psalm 107:1-2a

After the sunrise, and a time in prayer, I saw a beautiful rainbow. It was just what I needed to remind myself of God’s promises during challenging times. We are in the midst of selling our home on the mainland. It is a challenge with the current market and paperwork, and doing everything from a distance. In many ways, it may be more challenging if we were there and trying to maintain a presentable home with six children. My husband has been in and out of work, and that is yet another challenge.  We keep praying that hours will increase, and there are sporadic windows of work, but they are not back to steady hours yet…maybe this week. We have been saying that for a month. Sometimes we feel discouraged. I know that God has met all of our needs. He is an awesome provider for our family.

As the day wore on, it was still full of life’s demands, and paperwork. In the middle of it all I knew I needed to scoop up my youngest two children and take them outside to play. They were thrilled as we picked fresh oranges from our tree and bounced around on the trampoline in the warmth of the sun. It was just what I needed. Worship takes form in so many ways. I know that it is worship when I stop everything and spend time with my children, loving on them and blessing them with my time and energy. Thank you Lord for prompting my heart when I need to stop and make time to minister in the most simple ways. I received more hugs and kisses in that 45 minutes than I received all day long! All of us had our needs met 🙂

During our family devotion and prayer time, we read through the end of the book of Daniel. Those encounters that Daniel had with Gabriel are so powerful. The history that has unfolded in Gabriel’s words just screams out God’s sovereignty. Reading that Daniel was precious in the sight of God, and that the moment Daniel began to pray a command went out and an angel was sent to him. Even reminding ourselves through the scripture that there are sometimes delays to our requests, and it does not mean that God is not listening….

We ended our reading time with Psalm 5:3 and then entered our journal and prayer time. The fast is coming to a close. I am praying that we stay faithful to the end. Seeking God and listening for Him.

Listen to my voice in the morning Lord. Each morning I bring my requests to you and wait expectantly. Psalm 5:3

I am waiting in expectancy Lord, because I have known Your love and Your goodness. I marvel at your grace in my life and the mercy you have for me. Thank you Lord that you have taken care of all our needs. You see every struggle and every victory and I know You respond right when we need You to. Thank You for taking care of my family and blessing us in countless ways. Your love amazes me!

Our Menu today:                                                                                                                   Breakfast: Oatmeal                                                                                                                   Lunch: Split pea soup with carrot and potato                                                                       Dinner: The family had fresh smashed beans with Mexican brown rice. There wasn’t quite enough so I had two brown rice cakes with avocados.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

