Daniel Fast, Day Fourteen

*Late in posting this one….

Today seems like a struggle…I am not feeling like I want to study and journal today. I will pray and surrender my day to the Lord anyway. As I sit to pray my mind is all over the place…praying for focus and a time of digging into the Word.

Starting my morning in Daniel this morning, I am encouraged and reminded that we are precious to God. He responds to our prayers. In Daniel chapter 9, Gabriel appeared to Daniel after Daniel had prayed.

Daniel, I have come here to give you insight and understanding. The moment you began praying, a command was given. And now I am here to tell you what it was, for you are very precious to God. Listen carefully so that you can understand the meaning of your vision. Daniel 9:22-23

And later, I found myself in Matthew chapter 6, where Jesus is giving instructions for life. My summary: “When you GIVE, give like this….When you PRAY, pray like this….When you FAST, fast like this….” He gave such great instructions! Lord, it seems so natural for believers to give and pray…but fasting? Well, let’s face it, we do not like to deny ourselves. I know fasting does not come naturally to me. I can fast and I can commit to a longer fast, however I don’t always feel like it. Of course, my Christian walk is not based on how I feel. I am pushing past what I feel like and recognizing that fasting is not just a good idea, it is a part of the Christian lifestyle.

I have had to work through not treating fasting like a diet. With my American mind-set, coupled with many years of weight gain and loss, as soon as I change my diet and drink a ton of water, I immediately start thinking about losing weight. People have also been asking me if I have lost weight on the fast. And yes, I have. However, I really am working to not make this my focus. This requires a conscious effort on my part. When we first started talking about the fast and preparing a bit, in the back of my mind I thought that I would exercise several days a week. That was about weight loss! When I realized it, I asked God to help me so that my focus would not shift back to weight loss. Funny thing – for various reasons I was not really able to attend any classes or do the type of workouts that I need to keep losing weight. This was probably more of a God-thing. Seriously, I was about to turn the fast into a weight management program. Thank you God for keeping me focused!

Weight loss can be a good thing for many of us, and yet in the process of losing weight, dieting, making lifestyle changes we can become pretty self focused. I want this fast to continue to be God-focused. If the scale becomes too much of a focus, then we let the numbers on the scale dictate how well we did on the fast. Then the scale really becomes an idol…I am not interested in creating any more opportunity for idols to distract me.

I realize that many of my friends who seem to have a calling to prayer often struggle with food issues. This seems to be an assignment from the enemy…that those of us who should be more inclined to live a fasted lifestyle, get caught up in food. I am praying for myself and my friends, that we would continue to deny ourselves for the sake of the cross. And that we would FEAST on the Word of God and long for times in prayer and intimacy with the Almighty! Let me continually find a balance of enjoying the foods you created, all the while never making them idols in my life.

Our Menu Today:

Breakfast: Smoothie with green supplements                                                                     Lunch: Ninas Spring Beet Soup (Feeding the Whole Family Cookbook by Cynthia Lair) I am not a fan of beets, and this soup was great! It definitely tasted like beets, but it had a great flavor.                                                                                                                                      Dinner: Vegetables and Lentils

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

