Bedtime – Tired Time!

Why is it that Bedtime is such a tired time for parents? Or at least for me! I confess that many nights I am tired and not all that interested in creating moments for six different young people who need some one-on-one time. At that point in the evening I long for some alone time with my husband. After a full day of homeschooling I am ready for some time with my man, with no children.

And yet, I am convicted that there are so many opportunities to minister, bless, pray and even educate our children in these hours before they fall asleep. In the evening, so much learning takes place. Songs are sung, prayers are prayed, the events of the day are recounted, our children think of things they want to tell us because they have our undivided attention. I learn as much about them as learn from me. I hear their hearts as they pray for other people, and talk about their own hopes and fears.

They are nurtured through my attention, love, hugs…the Word of life, prayers and the quiet moments we share.

Lord, help me not to be too tired, or too selfish, by the time evening comes that I rush through these times and miss the opportunities to meet the needs of my children. I want to be available to them – to bless, encourage and speak into their lives.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

