Daniel Fast, Day Eight

Okay, food first. Cravings are definitely stronger at this time. I am praying through them, and feeling strengthened…but it sure would be easier if this would end. Our Pastor read something about this in church this morning. That there is a resurgence of cravings at this point of the fast, however it will die off again, so be strong and press in! Whew!

As I have been fasting a praying for healing in my own life and the lives of those I love. I have also prayed for marriages and families. I have been feeling impressed that I would love to have a group of women to meet with and just focus on praying for our husbands and children. That would be it! A prayer circle of women from different stages of life who come together in the power of agreement, and pray over our families. I have wanted this for a while now. And it seems that during this fast I am sensing this desire even more. Trouble is….when? How? Where would the keiki be? So, for now I will just keep praying and in the meantime I will continue to pray for my husband and children, and any other families that I am inspired to pray for as they are brought to my mind and heart.

Youth discipleship dinner was in our home this evening. It is a wonderful time for us all. I generally love to nurture people by cooking for them. Well, tonight’s dinner was different…I still loved cooking for everyone, it’s just that for the youth I would generally serve something besides a vegan menu. And, everyone responded so well. The menu?  Our main dish was sautéed veggies which included: onion, garlic, cabbage, broccoli, celery, and zucchini (greens). I added a block of locally produced, non-GMO tofu which was cubed (protein). Side dishes included brown rice (whole grain), a platter of sliced carrots (orange), and another of sliced oranges (orange, again). For a beverage I served an all fruit smoothie (purple). Everyone enjoyed. I limited myself to a very small portion of the vegetable saute as well as a smoothie. Satisfying and simple.

My personal menu for the earlier hours of the day:

Breakfast: a banana with 1 tsp peanut butter…and an apple a little later.                      Lunch: vegetable soup made with carrots and yam, celery, and onion. Blended together to make a creamy soup. Topped with fresh cilantro.                                                                           Dinner: See above

Remembering today that obedience is better than sacrifice.

Help me Lord to be true to You and to the commitments I made for this fast. Help me not to be distracted, or become discouraged. As I feel weary at times, I pray that I would turn that weariness into worshiping You. Thank you Lord for answering my prayers.

 

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

