Daniel Fast, Day Nine

I am more aware of the cravings the past few days. I realize I need to eat something that is nutritionally dense, but not a large portion. Today I made a great hot cereal that fed my whole family….three of my kids wanted to eat it at every meal. It was dense and flavorful, and nutritious enough to keep my focus on God rather than my growling tummy.

The how to: I toasted one cup of quinoa, 2 cups whole oats, 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds, and 2 TBSP sesame seeds in an iron skillet until the quinoa began and continued to pop for a few minutes. Then I poured the contents of the skillet into a sauce pan and added four cups of water, a handful of dates and five prunes all chopped into small chunks, plus one ripe, mashed banana. I brought this all to a boil over medium heat and then covered the pan and reduced the heat to low and cooked for another 15 minutes. After cooking, (the quinoa was still mostly raw), I added two cups of pre-cooked brown rice left over from dinner the night before and stirred it in to heat. Added a dash of cinnamon (which is good for circulation) and…voila!

Praying especially over my husband today. Blessing, and strength and favor of God….

Ephesians 3:16-19: “I pray that from His glorious, unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit. Then Christ will make His home in your hearts as you trust in Him. Your roots will grow down deep into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high and how deep His love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fulness of life and power that comes from God.” (NLT)

Tonight is my Homeschool Support Group. Looking forward to it.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

