Daniel Fast, Day Five

Sunrise! What a wonderful display of color and beauty these past two days…yesterday’s sunrise was the most spectacular I have ever seen. The hues of pinks and oranges set against great pillars of clouds that seemed to stretch over the ocean, layer upon layer, were amazing. Praying and writing as the sun rises is a great start to the day. As I stood out on my lanai this morning, I realized I am really missing that warm cup of coffee in my hand. It has become so routine. And, well….not having it just seems weird.

Today I had this feeling like, “Am I really fasting?” This seems to easy in some ways…or maybe I feel that I need to be struggling more, or suffering somehow. Then I remind myself that this is a Daniel Fast…not a water fast.

I have cut back on portions significantly. I am mostly eating vegetables, with some fruits, some legumes and some brown rice. No gluten, no processed foods, no dairy. NO COFFEE! (Did I just yell that out?) Water to drink. Eating clean, feeling hunger, making more time to pray purposefully and with my journal in hand. The fast is going well. So, why do I feel this way? Hmmm…maybe because I just came out of an extended period of time without gluten? Or maybe it is because I have restricted myself from certain foods many times in my life? Maybe it is because I have dieted so many times and that has been hard, therefore I expected this to be hard as well? All of the above? Who knows! I am just throwing it out there because it is where I am at.

The first week is coming to a close. My children have done so well. I am so proud of them. Not only are they handling the dietary changes well, they are enjoying eating healthily and they have been doing a great job at journal writing, and making extra time to pray.

In our daily readings today we read about and discussed wisdom, controlling our tongues and being careful with the words we speak, faith and a lifestyle that matches our faith, humbling ourselves, and putting others before ourselves.

Tonight as we read our evening devotion we read from Daniel chapter 5. I was struck by Daniel’s bold interpretation of the King’s dream. Oh how pride can get in the way! My quick summary: The previous King, King Nebuchadnezzar, was so powerful and God had given him much favor. Then the King allowed pride and arrogance to overtake him. In turn, he lost his mind and for a season and he lived with the wild animals. It was not until he acknowledged God’s sovereignty that his mind was restored. Daniel then rebukes the current King, King Belshazzar, by saying “you saw all of this and yet you still have set yourself up against God.” King Belshazzar died that night…

Oh, that can be so like us humans. Forgetting the sovereignty of God when other forces (maybe even our own) are seemingly so powerful. We get caught up and forget the terrible things that happened or somehow feel that can’t or won’t happen to us. And, pride, oh boy. What a hindrance that is! I have been trapped by it more times than I would like to admit. Thank God for His never-ending grace.

Looking forward to tomorrow…youth tomorrow night after a week of fasting…I am believing for a wonderful weekend.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

