The Best Book!

Time in the Word. A wonderful time of day for our family. It did not always feel this way. In fact, there were times I was so desperate to create the atmosphere that I could see in my mind, I often left devotions feeling frustrated and wondering if we did what we really set out to do.  It took, what seemed like years, to truly get into a great routine with daily devotions. I tried everything. I tried curriculum and workbooks, printable sheets, topical devotions, and many others. I liked a lot of what we tried. And I gravitated towards topical issues when it came to training my children in certain areas of character development. Even though I liked many of the tools I tried, there was always something missing.

In the past year, we simplified. We tried something new, and the fruit of our commitment is evident. We began reading through books of the bible and discussing them in-depth. We quickly moved past complaints and questions. We dug deep in the study of the Word, and the Word came alive to us!

What changed you ask? I stopped looking to all the different ideas that are available, sought the Lord for guidance and I felt impressed to begin by re-reading the gospels. Sounds too simple, right? Ah, not so! It was just what we needed. I have an active family and there were times my children were upside down, or bouncing more than I wanted them to be, but after a short time they were all very interested and not wanting to miss anything! We devoured the gospels, quickly moved into studying the Pauline Epistles, finished the rest of the New Testament and then went back to the Gospels. This grew into such a wonderful time together… a deepening of the children’s faith (and mine), answering many questions the children had about Jesus, His ministry, miracles, the mystery of our salvation through the cross, and why we are called to live a redeemed life.

As we approach this Christmas season, we are reading Isaiah. The prophecies that point to the coming of our Lord are powerful. The historical perspective, and the time in which this book was written has given my children even more confidence in their faith in Christ. As a mom, I have no greater joy than seeing my children study the Word, and enjoying what they are studying. The scriptures we have read end up in our conversations more than before, and the depth of understanding is thrilling.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Book Reviews, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

