I am a Woman…Part Two

Knowing that God has made me, He formed me, He loves me, looks after me, and wants the best for my life, I am confident in who He has created me to be. When I take my eyes off of Him, I can become concerned with other ideas.

There are times when I have a moment. They are just moments and they do not roll over into days on end…but they are still there. They are especially evident to me during times of hormonal fluctuation in my body. Oh, you know what I mean…those moments when you want to change everything in your life. Then the moment passes and you realize that it was a fleeting moment. Fleeting as it may be, it is in those times that the most secure women I know have a surge of insecurity rise up in them, or the level of vulnerability they experience is uncomfortable. As women we need to understand and pray for each other in these times!

In being a woman there is often a pressure that comes from the American culture, perpetuated by media, that women are never enough. This message is especially evident when it comes to our physical form and beauty. Never thin enough, never fit enough, never fashionable enough, never feminine enough….And then there are mixed messages…never quiet enough, never bold enough…or we are too dependent or too independent….So what is enough? When can we be sure?

When our faith is deeply rooted in God, in the absolute of His sovereignty, we see ourselves in the truth of who He says we are. After all, I am not supposed to look like someone else, or have their body, their fashion sense, their taste in clothing, accessories, or decor. I am unique. A one-of-a-kind. A design created by the Master Artist of All. My body, my face, my skin, my hair, my likes and dislikes – all planned! There was no mistake. He fashioned all of me, and knit me together in my mother’s womb. In the secret place he blended all of these components together and made me who I am.

I am grateful that I do not draw my strength from the standards of this world, or the ideas that others have about bodies, skin, hair, and fashion. When I have a moment and I feel vulnerable, I am grateful that God sets my feet back on the right path to seek Him. My hope, strength, purpose, and identity come from God alone.

Psalm 139

Thank you God, that you have made me who I am. You are perfect. Your work and your ways are good. You made each of us in your image. Beautiful.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I am a Woman…Part Two

  1. Jacqui Pardue says:

    Thanks for the encouragement Jess, I’m recognizing “moments” in my life. and they can be frightening…it helps to put those moments into perspective.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

