Standing Firm

Tempted, and tried. Tired at times, and standing firm. Five weeks have passed since I made a decision to make drastic changes (again) in my eating and food choices. In these five weeks I have witnessed God healing my body from pain, and meeting me right where I need to be met. I know that this food plan is what I need to continue to do. I need to continue to eat in a healthy way, choosing to stay away from flours, baked goods, sugar, deep-fried, bad fats, processed foods, remain gluten-free, and eat a reduced calorie menu. And, although I know it is what I need to do, this past week has been so hard! I have been tempted more than ever. On several occasions I have said things to myself, such as “no one will know,” or, “just a bite, after all I have done so well, just one bite will not hurt…”  However, I do know that deviating from the convictions that I have, knowing full well that God spoke to my heart about what needed to be done, would take me to a place where I do not want to go. My desire is to be spiritually, emotionally and physically healthy. I have experienced freedom in these areas of life for periods of time and somehow, someway, I allow things to get back to an out-of-balance place. I know I need to stand firm, trust God, believe that He will give me all that I need. He is so good, and loving and faithful….I need to trust Him to do the work. And I need to stop thinking about all that I may be missing out on in the food world 🙂 So, I press on denying myself and my desires, and seeking to live out a life of love, and purpose, being more and more intentional about everything I do.

For YOU have been CALLED to  LIVE in FREEDOM. But don’t use your freedom to satisfy your sinful nature. Instead, use your freedom to serve one another in love….So I say, let the Holy Spirit guide your lives. Then you won’t be doing what your sinful nature craves. The sinful nature wants to do evil, which is just the opposite of what the Spirit wants. And the Spirit GIVES us DESIRES that are opposite of what the sinful nature desires. These two forces are constantly fighting each other, so you are not free to carry out your good intentions. But when you are directed by the Spirit you are not under obligation of the law….But the Holy Spirit PRODUCES this kind of FRUIT in our lives: LOVE, JOY, peace, PATIENCE, kindness, goodness, FAITHFULNESS, gentleness and SELF-CONTROL. There is no law against these things! Those who belong to Christ Jesus have nailed the PASSIONS and DESIRES of their sinful nature to his cross and crucified them there. Since WE ARE LIVING BY THE SPIRIT, let us FOLLOW the SPIRIT’S leading in EVERY PART of our LIVES! (Emphasis mine – excerpt taken from verses in Galations 6, verses 16 -26, NLT).

 I can do everything through Him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain. I Corinthians 15:58 (NIV)

Be on guard. Stand firm in the faith. Be courageous. Be strong. And do everything with love. I Corinthians 16: 13 (NLT)

 

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Food, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

