Homeschooling Encouragement

Last night I had the privilege of sharing with other mom’s who homeschool at our local support group. I shared about how to stay inspired. Of course the inspiration and ideas wax and wane, and yet we are called to parent our children. To bless them, minister to them, and nurture them. To see their mistakes and work through along side of them in this life. To complete studies with them, learning together, growing together and most of all pressing into the heart of God together.

As I shared with these women, I was convinced again how we need each other. In that room last night, it was confirmed for me that we need to hear from one another, encourage each other, speak truth about who we are and why we have chosen to homeschool, and bless one another with prayer, fellowship and a common understanding.

This support group is the one place that I can go, where there is encouragement and understanding about why my family and I have chosen to commit to a lifestyle of homeschooling.

I love and appreciate all of my friends, my church family, my hula sisters, and the amazing people God has brought into my life. And again, there is nothing like the sweet fellowship among people with a common goal to disciple our children throughout every moment of the day, through thick and thin, through the great times and the times of struggle, to make family our focus and to have our homes be the center of our lives and our ministries.

As we shared last night, and spoke of our children being our treasures, so precious that we want to take seriously the task of raising them well, teaching them well, creating a learning environment that encourages both them and us to press on and to be further inspired.

And because they are our treasures, precious blessings, given to us by God, it is vital that we recognize that this life spills into eternity. Everything we do counts. Every moment that passes is a piece of their history and a part of my legacy. I pray that the things I pour into my children will be lasting, pure, righteous, admirable, honorable, full of hope, and most of all love. The curriculum and the other tasks we complete are all good…and the spiritual components are of the utmost importance.

A fellow homeschooler shared last night that she was overwhelmed and convicted by some of the content shared. For me, there is always that twinge in my heart that wants to respond and try to console and make it better. However, I know that Spirit is the one who counsels and comforts and brings correction when needed. Our words can cause that stirring and make us supple to receive the conviction that may be coming. Our friend thanked us in the room for accountability, and although that was not our intention, that accountability comes so naturally in a setting such as this. Accountability is such a natural force in relational fellowship. Oh and what a sweet time of prayer we ended in!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homeschooling Encouragement

  1. Jessica Westfall says:

    “This life spills into eternity”…beautiful! I was thinking along those lines today in the car. Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. Jessica Averill says:

    Yes, I too love the line “Life spills into eternity”…..so very true.

    Goodness Jess, I have missed the last couple months of Homeschool Momma meetings and reading your post made me realize just how important it is for me. Especially since I’m so new at it. You continue to be an encouragement.

    I feel as though life is dictating my ideas about school (the wedding and craziness surrounding it) and I wish at times that there was just an instruction manual that told me exactly what to do, but then I realize that this idea is exactly what we felt led to remove ourselves from! Praise God!

    I feel like I would love a good workshop or even a good book on learning how to be a better ‘teacher’ of my 8th grade son as I feel so ill prepared. And in my desire to have things ‘perfect’ I am teaching him the same thing which is exactly what I don’t want to do!

    Do you have any book suggestions to assist with boosting my teaching skills?

    Thank you always for you posts! They are truly manna!

    XOXOXOXO

    • jaw123456 says:

      Jessica,
      I hear ya! Life has a way of doing that sometimes…and of course with wedding planning, time flies! There is an encouraging book that is an easy read written by Ruth Beechick, You Can Teach Your Child Successfully. She really focuses on teaching techniques for children 4th through 8th grade. We could create a worskshop in Hawai’i 🙂

Leave a Reply

