Organization, Planning, Scheduling!!!

I am currently reading a book called Managers of Their Homes: A Practical Guide to Daily Scheduling for Christian Homeschool Families by Steven and Teri Maxwell. The Maxwell’s are a homeschooling family with eight children. They have quite an amazing approach to scheduling life. They have a website www.Titus2.com

I am working with a few other women who are all in the midst of attempting to create incredible, working schedules for life. The ideas shared in this book so far are very practical…and a bit daunting for me at times. What I realize is that the schedule will provide a framework for my family and within that framework I will likely find the freedom within the schedule to complete some of the tasks that never get done or to complete some of the fun projects I have ben meaning to do all year and haven’t yet.

So, here is what I have done so far…I have written down every task that I complete during the day (at least to the best of recollection) and assigned a time to each task. The time is not a time of day, rather the time I think it takes to complete each task. I have also created a list like this for each of my children. These lists become the framework for the schedule. It may sound complicated, however I think it is worth looking at. If for no other reason than to take into account all of the things we as a family do during the day – from grooming, to schoolwork, prayer and devotions, meals together, activities outside, etc. By creating the list I have so far, I can see that I do not necessarily have enough hours in the day for all the things I have listed. Ahhh unrealistic expectations…something has to give.

I have also created a “wish list” of sorts to remind myself of those fun things I want to do each week! A weekly hike, art projects that require time and energy, correspondence, reading books for my own pleasure, giving myself a facial or pedicure, painting, practicing the guitar, etc. Then I have a list of tasks that I see all around me that are never getting accomplished (this is the “not-so-fun-but-necessary-list”). This list will be worked into the schedule somehow, like cleaning the grout throughout the house, cleaning the top of the fridge, paint touch ups, etc.

There is a little part of me that thinks this process is overwhelming and yet I am hoping to give my whole family a real visual picture of what we do and when we do it. I love the idea and we will see how far we take this.

Father, continue to create in me the desire to be purposeful and intentional in all that I do. I want to be a woman with a plan, a woman of purpose, and a woman full of passion for You and for my family, for the nations and for your Kingdom.

 A wise woman builds her house, a foolish woman tears it down with her own hands.  Proverbs 14:1

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Book Reviews, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Organization, Planning, Scheduling!!!

  1. Jessica Averill says:

    Ok, I’m going to check out this book because it sounds right up my type A alley!

    I’ve looked at the link to the website and saved it into my favorites.

    I think it is a great thing to look at what we each do every day. I think that my son does not realize what I do in a day and that fact makes it easier for him to want to be slow to pick up after himself or to volunteer to help out. Perhaps when we all have a clearer picture of what is expected/required/needed….we can adjust accordingly. Who knows, maybe I’ll even discover that he has more to do than I realize (I’m doubting it…but it’s possible) *smile*

    I love that proverb and it is great timing to read it tonight!

    Thanks!

  2. Raeane says:

    Love this idea! I need to do something like this cause all I see is the craziness all around get overwhelmed and don’t do any of it! So thanks for this tip!! Love reading about what you guys are doing!! =)

Leave a Reply

