Toddler Times

 

Whether he is throwing things, running and laughing, throwing toys, hurling things off the second story lanai, screeching, knocking things down, throwing things, (and did I say throwing things?) our toddler is in constant motion! He  has more energy than anyone I have ever met. These toddler times can be so difficult! True confession time….in the morning, after my son has been awake for a couple of hours, I have this sense of looking forward to nap time….and honestly, after he has been awake from his nap, I sometimes find myself counting down the hours until his bedtime. I have to remember to remain grateful!

I am grateful to God that my son is active. I am grateful to God that he can move, laugh, learn and even throw things. I recall contending for his life in prayer during several hospitalizations throughout his infancy. Pleading for God to save his little life. As an infant, he was diagnosed with a debilitating seizure disorder that could potentially take his life, or cause severe developmental delays. After several months on a considerable amount of anti-seizure medication, he was miraculously healed and taken off of all medication. Following a diagnosis of Hirschspungs disease, he had a  bowel resection and colostomy. I remember praying that God would make him a healthy, active boy who would run and play and grow big and strong. I thank God for answered prayers.

With all the challenges and busyness that can accompany toddlerhood, there are so many blessings as well. One of many things that I love about toddlers is their language development. I love to hear them talk! It is so difficult to correct the things they say, even though they may be completely mispronounced. I love and appreciate the sounds he attempts to make and the words he hears us say and attempts to repeat. His language is delightful. My oldest son said to me the other day, “Mom, he is really getting big…he used to say go-go-gycle and now he says mo-to-cycle. He really knows the real words now!” It is so true! I am scurrying to write down as much as I can remember before it all fades away.

Our little guy is just beginning to show interest in activities that require some sitting down. For instance, he will ask to sit with someone in the family and look at a book. He may only sit for two minutes or so, but we are heading the right direction. He has decided he loves dominoes. I personally think he loves the crashing sound they make as they are dumped from the tin box onto a hard surface. However, he will stand and stack several of them into a tower before he launches them into the air. He also loves playing with dice. This interest also seems to be related to the noise they make as they are tumbling across the glass coffee table. I am blessed that he can be still even if it is only two minutes at a time for the moment.

He still searches for everyone’s piko (belly button). The result often embarrasses the person being searched and can catch us off-guard as parents. But with the purity of a toddler, he sincerely just likes pikos. We are constantly answering the question, “What’s this?” And the other day he surprised us by naming off colors that he recognized. He is developing so well. His physical growth and cognitive growth are a testimony to God’s blessing on his life. I am so grateful for healthy toddler times, even if I find myself exhausted…I am blessed to have the pleasure of parenting an adorable young boy who is so full of life and love for his family!

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Toddler Times

  1. MeriJean says:

    Wow, sounds like you need a nanny. I know of a few in Oregon that would be good.

    • jaw123456 says:

      Ha! It may seem like that…ultimately I feel completely blessed to be the mama of this toddler. He is full of life, just as we hoped and prayed he would be….and the throwing, running, and crashing are still tiring. 🙂

Leave a Reply

