Hula, hula, hula!

 

(This first picture is of my hairpiece. Aunty Zennie taught us all how to make these. The other pictures show me with the hairpiece in my hair with added flowers. I love that we make everything fresh!) 

Two of my daughters have been joining me for hula, and we have really enjoyed ourselves. We are learning so much!

 Hula can be hard work. I love going over all the foundational footwork and I am always surprised by what a workout it is! Our leader has us work on the basics each week. These basics establish the foundations of the hula we are learning… we often look at why we come together, who we are here for, the basic footwork, etc. There is a lot to know and understand about the Hawaiian culture. A culture with an ancient language that was not written. Everything was passed on through oral tradition, especially hula.  Our leader continuously shares information with us about the culture, hula, Hawaiian words we need to know and understand and so much more.

My initial experience with hula was what I saw at a luau created for tourists. Although some historical information was offered, and the dancing was fun and exciting, nothing compares to the hula I have seen since I have been here. Having the opportunity to watch part (even though it was just one night) of the Merrie Monarch festival, gave me a much different perspective of hula. Being a part of a group is invited to dance at different events, we have learned to make hairpieces, leis, kala’au, etc. I hope to take my daughters to the Merrie Monarch festival next year…even though tickets are difficult to get, it is worth a try.

For now, we will continue to practice with the group we are working with. We meet every Monday night and although my daughters and I are challenged by learning something new, we look so forward to it each week. I love the opportunity of getting to know other women in this setting. They love God, love their culture and they love hula.

Thank you hula sisters for taking me in and being patient with me as I learn. You truly are ‘Ohana.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

