Lost and Found

Four years ago while we were vacationing here on the Big Island, I met a family at Waiuli. We realized we both kept coming to the same spot day after day to swim and play with our children. This mom and I sat and talked about homeschooling, raising children, living in Hawai’i, living in Oregon and all manner of topics. What a wonderful experience. We made such a nice connection, at the end of that trip, we exchanged email addresses in hopes to stay in touch.

After my family and I returned to Oregon, my husband and I realized the small paper that had this woman’s contact information on it had been lost. I was disappointed about this and felt that disappointment rise from time to time. Although I held out in hopes that we would someday find the information, we never did. As we planned our move I longed to speak with this woman to ask her questions about life in Hawai’i, homeschooling, having multiple children, etc. As our move drew closer, I wished for a local connection outside my family.

After moving to Hawai’i, we began looking for churches. I prayed and asked the Lord if He would please allow me to cross paths with this woman and her family again. Every time we went to the beach, I tried to keep my eyes peeled.

One Sunday morning we were visiting a church and during worship I saw a family walk in that I recognized. Immediately I knew it was her! During a break in the service I approached her and explained how I knew her. She was sweet and vaguely remembered our encounter four years ago. She introduced me to her children again and to her youngest whom she was pregnant with the last time we saw each other.

Since then we have had the opportunity to run into them several times around town, and at the beach. They just happened to be looking for a halau for mom and daughters, so I invited her to the one I have been attending. They came!

To date we have had the privilege of joining them for a BBQ at the beach. And my friend took me under wing to teach me how to find, cut down and create a kala’au. Her husband is a Hawaiian Culture teacher and they are every knowledgable about life here. This Saturday we brought our kala’au to the beach to de-bark, and smooth. The girls will have two kala’au each to strike together during hula. I will have a set to strike together and another taller than me to strike while dancing.

Mahalo nui to our new friends whom we have already learned so much from ! We look forward to more times together. Thank you Lord for answering even the simplest prayer, that I would see them again…what a great reunion for me.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lost and Found

  1. rixgal says:

    I love this! It is SOOOOO God to hook up your families again after four long years with no communication! God is so faithful to bring likeminded friends into our lives right when we need them! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

