Fun Facts


I love that everyone is Aunty or Uncle here… and Aunty here is spelled with the letter “y.”

I love that people put time and effort into making things and creating importance… My halau is performing at a women’s conference this weekend. They will make all of their hair pieces for the event. People also make their own costumes.

Quilting is a beloved pastime here. They are hand-made and the details are wonderful.

If there is a celebration there is always food.

Music and dance are everywhere. If there is an event there is generally live music and often Hula performed.

I love the differences in how things are referred to. For instance trash here is called rubbish, grocery carts are called wagons, baby is pronounced bay-bay. Women are often referred to as sister, and men as brother. Everyone is a cousin to someone.

Children are cherished.

Everyone welcomes you with a kiss and a hug, no handshakes.

There is effort and time put into crafts and homemade things and that is welcomed.

Lei’s are made for special occasions or to welcome someone and the time is taken to make them fresh.

More to come…

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun Facts

  1. MeriJean Seward says:

    Your making me “homesick”, I don’t know what thats about, I just know thats what I feel. Keep up the blog, I’m loving it. Thanks Jessica

  2. jaw123456 says:

    Mahalo, MJ. I need to get some pics up to go with the last few blogs. Hope to do that in the next day or so…keep checking back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

