Homeschool Meeting

Tonight, I met with some beautiful women who homeschool their children. This gathering was a group of ladies who are a part of a larger homeschool group. They have been a very active group in the past and have recently taken a break from the busy group calendar. We met together at Border’s. The meeting was great and I am always up for a bookstore. These Mom’s have known each other for quite some time, and although I was the newcomer they were very kind and welcoming to me.  I was excited to hear of all the ideas they have for the future and to learn of the plans they have had in the past.

It seems that their group was quite active with a weekly class that was taught, numerous field trips, monthly support meeting for parents and various activities in the community. Although they have been taking a break from holding weekly classes, as it became too much and people got burned out, there is still continued activity within the group.  In fact there was afield trip last week, British Literature classes (in someone’s home) for High School Students, group tennis lessons and other activities.

As this group is in a transition, I am praying for the Lord to guide and direct me and show me how I can best serve my family and help serve the greater homeschooling community in East Hawai’i. I am being cautious with everything I encounter, trying not to take on more than I should. I shared some ideas about gathering monthly as mom’s, and how I have a desire to see that we all come together for encouragement. They seemed very open to a monthly breakfast…things start early in Hawai’i, so I believe our breakfast would be at 7am.

For years, I have had a desire to have some sort of readers group, or book club if you will, and two of the ladies at the meeting mentioned that they had a desire have a book club! That was exciting to hear. I did not share any of my ides about this at the time, I was simply excited to see how the Lord even answers some of those sweet little desires of our hearts. There is so much that can be done when we come together. The catch for me is to not add so many activities to my plate that I begin to feel overwhelmed or begin to ignore some of my convictions about what I feel needs to be done during the school day.

I look forward to getting to know these women and their families. It was so great to meet each of them and see the diversity we bring to the table. Each with our own life backgrounds, cultural backgrounds, and varying homeschooling commitments, ideas and passions.

Thank you Lord for these ladies. I pray that we would have many conversations and times of prayer together that would encourage us as wives, mothers, and sisters in You.  Bless these families this week as they spend time together discipling, nurturing and learning with their children.

About jaw123456

I am a forty-something year old woman with a thousand interests. I am married to an incredible man who holds my heart. Living wholesome lives and training our children to lead lives that are worthy of the calling that God has for them is our hearts desire. Some of my interests include faith, family, adoption, homeschooling, whole and wholesome foods, cooking, sewing and living simply.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wholesome Education, Wholesome Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

